Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

Communication Sciences & Disorders: Find Articles

Databases for Articles on Communication Disorders

Psychology, Sociology, and Linguistics

These social science databases provide information about the psychological, social, and cultural aspects of communication disorders. Look at the tabs underneath the Find Articles tab for tutorials demonstrating how to use these databases effectively.

Medical Databases

These resources are useful for finding medical information about communication disorders.

Additional Resources

MIT CogNet Library offers a core repository of digitized text, featuring major reference works, along with a customized netLibrary collection of MIT Press cognitive and brain science titles, select Publisher Collections, material from a range of leading journals, and other related materials.

Inspec

International Encyclopedia of Communication Online This resource is available to University of Utah users only
Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Edited by Wolfgang Donsbach, Dresden University of Technology. Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication, public relations and advertising, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.

OT Search: The Occupational Therapy Bibliographic System
http://otsearch.aota.org/
Provided by the Wilma L.West Library of the American Occupational Therapy Foundation. Useful for finding articles on speech therapy, Communication Disorders in the workplace, etc., as they relate to occupational therapy.

Find SLP-related articles and abstracts

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource for the communication disciplines. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“coreâ€) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected …

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource for the communication disciplines. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“coreâ€) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priorityâ€) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.

  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
    • University of Utah Students, Faculty & Staff Only
    This collection covers aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
  • PsycINFO
    • University of Utah Students, Faculty & Staff Only
    PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.

    Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    • University of Utah Students, Faculty & Staff Only
    This database abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The collection contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 publications, and provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years (1952-1962) have been added to the database. Many records from j…

Web Resources

Resources selected by the UU Communication Sciences & Disorders Department

 

Government Information

http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/
NIDCD is mandated to conduct and support biomedical and behavioral research and research training in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language.

http://www.ninds.nih.gov/
Information on biomedical research on disorders of the brain and nervous system. Search by broad topics such as autism or by keyword.

Deafness and Deaf Culture

http://www.deaflibrary.org/
"An online collection of reference material and links intended to educate and inform people about Deaf cultures in Japan and the United States; as well as deaf and hard of hearing related topics." Created by Karen Nakamura, Assistant Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College.

The PBS film  site explores "deaf culture, its roots, its language, and what deaf people have to say about living in a world without sound." Includes timelines of deaf history and hearing aid history, information on American Sign Language (ASL) and cochlear impleants, an interactive Fingerspelling Player, lesson plans, and recommended resources. Online companion to the documentary film of the same title.-From The Librarians' Index to the Internet http://lii.org.

American Sign Language

http://www.handspeak.com/
"[An] introduction to get "taste" of the sign languages online. It is also beneficial for self-tutoring and fun learning, too!"

Atlases

http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/
This is an information resource for central nervous system imaging which integrates clinical information with magnetic resonance (MR), x-ray computed tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine images...The Atlas project is made possible in part by the Departments of Radiology and Neurology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, the Countway Library of Medicine, and the American Academy of Neurology

Behavioral and Brain Sciences

http://www.bbsonline.org/
Provided by Cambridge University Press, Behavioral & Brain Sciences (BBS) is an international, interdisciplinary journal of "open peer commentary." This interesting Website highlights "open science" in a way that many practitioners will find inspiring. Specifically, the Website offers full-text of important and controversial interdisciplinary "target articles" in psychology, neuroscience, behavioral biology, cognitive science, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy. These "target articles" are"unedited penultimate drafts of BBS target articles that have been accepted for publication" or are already published (since 1993), accompanied by 1,000-word commentaries (analytical critiques) that are co-published with each article, along with the author's response to each. Users may [browse through a "subject hierarchy" or search by keyword] and browse full-text of all returns. Final published versions of target articles and their accompanying commentaries and author responses are available through Cambridge University Press.--Copyright Internet Scout Project, 1994-2000. http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/

Linguistics

http://www2.let.uu.nl/Uil-OTS/Lexicon/

http://www.sil.org/linguistics/topical.html
"A topically organized list of resources elsewhere on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist." Created by the International Linguistics Center for the Summer Institute of Linguistics.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library