Educational Psychology: Selected Journals

The Department of Educational Psychology is composed of seven units: Counseling Psychology, Professional Counseling, School Counseling, School Psychology, Learning Sciences, Instructional Design & Educational Technology, and Reading & Literacy.

What are Open Access Journals?

From the Directory of Open Access Journals website: "We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition [1] of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory. "

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.

Click here to view Open Access Journals across many disciplines.


To access the following journals, go to the Marriott Library Catalog. Type the journal name in the search box. Once found, note that some journals have only online access while some journals have online access as well as print volumes. Be sure to look at both the online subscription as well as the print option to get a comprehensive view of the available volumes.

 Use the Library Catalog to identify additional scholarly (print or online) journals by following this process:

  1. Type in the name of the journal in the search box.
  2. Limit the results to Journals (on the sidebar at  the left).
  3. Once identified as being in the library, check to see whether it says "Check Location" or "Full Text Available." Note: Not all online journals include every volume that has been published. Check to see the range of dates available online.
  4. If the journal volume is electronically available, click on the link "View Resource" that will take you to the online copy.
  5. If the journal volume is not available online, click the "Arc Click Request" to see if the Marriott Library has the volume in print.
  6. You will need to log into your Usearch account (at the top of the page) in order to request the specific volume.

Using the library catalog to find an article within a journal. So you've discovered a great article, but the article database only provides you with the information to find the article, not the full text of the article. To remind you how to use the library catalog to learn whether or not you can find the journal that the article appears in, follow the process outlined above. As a reminder, you may not use the library catalog to find articles on your subject which is why we spend so much time with article databases available through the deep web.

Selected Journals

Advances in Instructional Psychology (online)

American Educational Research Journal (print and online)

Canadian Journal of School Psychology (online)

Child Development (print and online)

Cognition and Instruction (print and online)

Contemporary Educational Psychology (print and online)

Early Childhood Research Quarterly (print and online)

Journal of Experimental Education (print and online)

Journal of Educational Psychology (print and online)

Educational and Psychological Measurement (print and online)

Educational Psychologist (print and online)

Educational Psychology (print and online)

Educational Psychology in Practice (online)

Educational Psychology in Review (print and online)

Educational Research Review (print and online)

Elementary School Journal (print and online)

Gifted Child Quarterly (print and online)

Instructional Science (print and online)

Intelligence (print and online)

Journal of Behavioral Education (print and online)

Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics (print and online)

Journal of Educational Measurement (print and online)

Journal of Instructional Psychology (print and online)

Journal of Learning Disabilities (print and online)

Journal of Research in Reading (online)

Learning and Educational Differences (online)

Learning and Instruction (print and online)

Learning Disability Quarterly (print and online)

Reading Research Quarterly (print and online)

Research for Educational Reform (print)

Scientific Studies of Reading (print and online)

Social Psychology of Education (online)

School Psychology International (online)

Note that accessing Education Week Online is a great way to keep up-to-date on important issues.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library