Educational Psychology: Encyclopedias and other Reference Resources

The Department of Educational Psychology is composed of seven units: Counseling Psychology, Professional Counseling, School Counseling, School Psychology, Learning Sciences, Instructional Design & Educational Technology, and Reading & Literacy.

Search Reference Books

>

General Reference Resources

Why Use Reference Books?

Before you begin writing a paper it's helpful to have a good overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference material can help you.  If a topic looks interesting, but you don't know enough about it, or you want a source of information other than your textbook, academic reference sources are what you need.  You'll learn about the most important aspects of your topic, the important researchers, and many of these sources will list citations to key articles, books and book chapters.

I've listed some related reference material below, and the box to the left tells you how to find other reference sources using Credo Reference.  You can also ask a librarian about appropriate reference resources.  Contact me or use Get Help

Selected Reference Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education [electronic resource]. Available throught the library catalog.

Early Childhood Education: an international encyclopedia. Level 2, LB1139.23.E272 2007

Encyclopedia of Special Education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals. Check the library catalog for location.

Education and Technology: an encyclopedia. Level2, LB1028.E17 2004

World Education Encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide. LB15.W87 1988 (ARC)

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Education. Available online through the library catalog.

Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Level 2, LC1099.D53 1997

HANDBOOKS

The Crosscultural, Language, and Academic Development Handbook: a complete K-12 reference guide. Level 2, PE1128.A2D45 2010

Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity. Level 2, LB1576.H2337 2009

Inclusion Strategies for Young Children: a resource guide for teachers, child care providers, and parents. Level 2, LC1201.M66 2009

The Sage Handbook of African American Education. Level 2, LC2717.S34 2009

The General Educator's Guide to Special Education. Level 2, LC4019.M215 2009

Librarian

Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Contact:
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours:
9-10 AM Tuesdays & Thursdays
By Appointment
801-585-0542
Website Skype Contact: dziegenfuss
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library