Film and Media Arts: Screenplays & Shooting Scripts

Film Scripts in Print

Published Scripts

Searching the Usearch library catalog for the Subject Keyword phrase "motion picture plays" will retrieve books about the process of writing screenplays, and also published copies of the actual film scripts.

  • To refine the results by year, use the "Creation Date" links in the left-hand column.
  • To locate a specific screenwriter, type in the last name and click "Search."

Unpublished Scripts

Many shooting scripts--as well as earlier drafts--are housed in "manuscript" collections at university, museum, and film industry archives. That institution may be willing to scan a digital copy for you, or you may have to make a trip to the institution to view materials in person.

  • Search for the name of a film, screen writer, director, cinematographer, designer, or actor in Worldcat.org, using the "Everything" search box. (e.g. Cecil B. DeMille). Limit the results to "Archival Materials" using the Results by Format choices in the left column.
  • Look for results that indicate "Collection" or "Papers" followed by a range of years. (e.g. Cecil B. DeMille collection, 1927-1960s.) 
  • Click on any result's title link for more details:
    • Scroll down to "Find a Copy in a Library" to see where the collection is located. Click on that link to go to the library's catalog. But then look for that institution's Special Collections or Archives site. There, you'll have a chance to view "Finding Aids" or "EADs" which will list the contents within their manuscripts and media archives.

Watch this video for a quick demonstration.

 

Script Archives

Books about Screenwriting

Below is a sampling of the books about screenwriting available at Marriott Library. If you'd like to see more, search the Usearch library catalog for the Subject Keyword phrase "motion picture authorship".

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library