History: Find a Book

Where to Find the Books

Books in Marriott Library are primarily located around the perimeter of Levels 1 and 2. The largest exception to this are books in the Automated Retrieval Center (ARC), a large storage facility attached to the library. When you request a book from the ARC, robots retrieve the book from storage and it is delivered to the Reserve Desk  within 20 minutes of your request. 

Any book located in the General Collection will be on Levels 1 or 2. Books are located in order of call number. Call numbers A-PZ are on Level 2; Call numbers Q-Z are on Level 1. Please refer to the library maps for detailed information on where to find items NOT in the General Collection (i.e. any of the collections listed below). 

Please be sure to ask for help if you need assistance locating an item. We are happy to help!

Circulating collections

Listed below are collections by location and the type of call number used in the collection. 

Level 1:

 LVL 1 Classroom Hall: Browsing Collection [LC]

 LVL 1: Government Documents [SuDocs]

LVL 1: Map Reference [LC]

LVL 1: Maps [LC, SuDocs, UN and Dewey]

LVL 1: Maps Oversize [LC]

 LVL 1: Middle East Collection [LC]

LVL 1: Middle East Reference [LC]

 LVL 1: UN Documents [UN]

Level 2:

 LVL 2: Documents Microforms [SuDocs]

LVL 2: Materials Collection [other]

LVL 2: Microfiche [LC, SuDocs and other]

LVL 2: Microforms Reference [LC]

LVL 2: Oversize Collection [LC, Dewey and SuDocs]

LVL 2: Ready Reference Knowledge Commons [LC]

Level 3:

 LVL 3: Juvenile Collection [Dewey]

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library