Mechanical Engineering: Research Help

Research Help

Tips

Database Selection Note: The best overall index for Mechanical Engineering literature is "Compendex". This index is found at the "Engineering Village 2", the names are frequently used interchangebly. "Mechanical Engineering Abstracts" is a very good second choice for many mechanical engineering topics. "INSPEC" is the best source for computer, electronics and control literature. "NTIS" is the source for reports on government funded research (of which there is a great deal in many diverse areas).

Remote Access to Library Databases: Nearly every database offered by the library come with license restrictions from the database producer. If you are a student, faculty or employee of the Univesity of Utah, you may search from home or other off-campus locations.  If you need help with this access procedure see the Off Campus Access link on the Marriott Library home page at http://www.lib.utah.edu.

The large majority of Property Data published over the last century is not in electronic format, or on the Internet, but is found in printed handbooks, looseleaf collections, and journals in the Marriott Library. Locating data takes perserverence and not every material or compound has published values for all possible properties. Ask for assistance at the nearest reference desk for locating this property information. The NIST web site is an excellent free source for a broad range of property information.

Engineering Handbooks on a great many subjects are available in print in the Marriott Library.  This is an area rich in engineering data and short turorials. Much more data is availble here than on any web site. Introductory to advanced books on nearly all engineering topics are available for check-out from the general collection.

The Call Number arrangement of library materials is a subject arrangement.
Use call number areas to browse for books on specific engineering topics. Be aware that information on some subjects, especially those that have applications in other engineering areas, may be divided among more than one range of call numbers.

For online  Patent Information visit the USPTO (US Patent & Trademark Office) or the EPO (European Patent Office) sites; listed above under the Web LInks "Reference Sources" section.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library