Special Education: Organizations & Resources

Legal Resources

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) website
This Web site provides legal documents such as the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, ADA regulations, technical assistance manuals prepared by the United States Equal Employment Opportunity commission, and technical assistance documents sponsored by the National Institute of Disability and Rehabilitation Research. There are also links to other Internet sources concerning disability and legal issues such as the Social Security Administration and the American Council for the Blind.

Federal Resource Center for Special Education
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, this site provides information solely on establishing technical assistance activities for special education students. The site features full-text versions of FRC's own publications which can be used as resource tools, links to many pages pertaining to specific disabilities, valuable information regarding the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Amendments of 1997 to Public Law 105-17, and network links to regional education resource centers.

Office of Special Education Programs
As a component of the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, the Office of Special Education programs offers a site focusing more on legislative issues regarding special education rather than teaching aids. This site provides links to valuable information concerning the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, longitudinal studies relating specifically to special education and government publications and reports.

U.S. Department of Justice Responsibilities for Americans with Disabilities Act Home Page
ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, programs and services provided by state and local governments, goods and services provided by private companies, and in commercial facilities. This site offers access to ADA publications and requirements, technical assistance materials, new regulations, press releases, information line, and certification of state and local building codes.

Organizations
Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
This non-profit association accomplishes its mission in support of special education professionals by advocating for appropriate governmental policies. The website includes threaded discussions on relevant topics, information on professional development, CEC’s resource catalog for educators, professional standards, international programs and activities, scholarships and awards, and links to National Clearinghouse for Professions in Special Education. 

Federation for Children with Special Needs
The Federation for Children with Special Needs web site offers links to numerous resources for educators in the field of special education. Among the resources available through this site are links to publications, legislative links to disability laws, and links to innovative projects that provide further research on special education issues. There is also a family resource database in which parents and teachers can locate agencies throughout the United States, which provide information and/or services to families.

Learning Disabilities Association of America
The Learning Disabilities Association of America is a national, non-profit organization. The association is "dedicated to identifying causes and promoting prevention of learning disabilities and to enhancing the quality of life for all individuals with learning disabilities and their families by encouraging effective identification and intervention, fostering research, and protecting their rights under the law."  This site offers links to government agencies, related organizations, and online articles. There are also pages of tips for parents on how to participate in the IEP process, how to ensure that appropriate special education services are being provided to a child in the regular education classroom, as well as early identification of speech language disorders, educational standards, and many other important issues.

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell)  The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell) is the world's oldest and largest membership organization promoting the use of spoken language by children and adults with hearing loss. Members include parents of children with hearing loss, adults who are deaf or hard of hearing, educators, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, physicians, and other professionals in fields related to hearing loss and deafness. Through advocacy, publications, financial aid and scholarships, and numerous programs and services, AG Bell promotes its mission: Advocating Independence through Listening and Talking!

Child Care and Earlly Education Research Connections
Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-use collection of more than 20,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.

Utah Resources 

Utah State Board of Regents

Utah System of Higher Education

Utah State Office of Education

The Utah Schools for the Deaf and Blind
The Utah Schools for the Deaf and Blind provides a wide range of services to children who are deaf. USDB is responsible for providing interpreters for mainstreaming situations throughout the state of Utah. Check out the Sign Language and Interpreter Services Department for resource lists.

Jean Massieu School (JMS)
Jean Massieu School (JMS) is an educational entity that involves families, school personnel, students, and the deaf and hearing communities in providing academic and social excellence to its students through a bi-lingual and bi-cultural (Bi-Bi) environment.

Utah Association for the Deaf
The Utah Association for the Deaf, established in 1909, is one of the oldest state associations in the United States. Its first president was a woman, Elizabeth DeLong – and this was before women were granted the right to vote!  The UAD has a long list of accomplishments of which we are proud. The UAD was responsible for the establishment of the Sanderson Community Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, the Utah Interpreter Service, the Interpreting Training Program at Salt Lake Community College, the Utah Relay Service, and a bookstore with deaf and hard of hearing products. It supports organizations dealing with deaf children and young adults. The UAD Bulletin is published monthly with local news and informational articles.

Suggest a Web Link