Urban Institute for Teacher Education: Style/Citation Manuals
Style Manuals
Print resources are available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2) of the Marriott Library
Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style. The most popular style guides are APA, Chicago, and MLA style. Other style guides include:
- A Handbook for Thesis and DissertationsPublished by the Graduate School of the University of Utah
- See the Graduate School's Thesis Office website for more information
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate L. Turabian (Print) LB2369 .T8 2007
- ACM Journals LaTeX Style Guide
- ACS Style Guide (Print) QD 8.5 A25 2006
- AIP Style ManualAmerican Institute of Physics
- (Print) QC 5. 45 A45 1990
- AMA Manual of Style(Print) R 110. A53 3 2007
- The Associated Press Stylebook 2008 (Print) PN 4783. A82 2008
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Print) KF 245. U55 2005
- Citing Medicine: NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
- Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers(Print) T 11. S386
Style Guides
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and EditorsCall Number: R119 .A533 2007ISBN: 9780195176339
Associated Press StylebookCall Number: PN4783 .A82ISBN: 0465012620
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253. U69ISBN: 9780226104201
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses by Call Number: LB 2369. T8 2007ISBN: 9780226823362
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research PapersCall Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 1433805596
Scientific Style and Format : the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and PublishersCall Number: T11 .S386 2006ISBN: 097796650X
Starters (Books/Links)
| Oxford English Dictionary Available in both print & online PE 1625. O87 |
| American Heritage College Dictionary PE 1628 .A6227 2002 |
| Webster's New World College Dictionary PE1628 .W5629 2016 |
| Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (1919) (17th edition) PN 6081. B27 2002 |
| The OWL at Purdue |
| Harvard College Writing Center |
| Elements of Style (1918) (4th Edition) PE 1408. S772 2000 |
| Style: The Basics of Clarity and Grace PE 1421. W5455 |
| Academic Writing for Graduate Students PE 1408. S7836 2004 |
Style/Citation Manuals
- APAStyle.org covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.
- Beyond the MLA Handbook: Documenting Electronic Sources on the Internet
- Chicago Manual of Style (Princeton only)
- Citing Online Sources a list of several links from the Linguist
- Citing Sources has comparison tables for print & electronic (including MLA) (Duke)
- Citation Styles Online covers MLA, APA, Chicago and CBE
- Elements of Style - By William Strunk, Jr.; accessed thru Bartleby.com
- Karla's Guide to Citation Manuals annotated links to various styles for citing electronic, and other sources - MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc
- Research and Documentation Online By Diana Hacker; includes examples for citing the MLA, APA and CBE
- Style Sheets for Citing Internet & Electronic Resources Humanities (MLA & Chicago), Scientific (APA & CBE), and History (Turabian)
- Turabian Style: Sample Footnotes and Bibliographic Entries (6th edition)
