Educational Psychology 6030: Encyclopedias and other Reference Resources

Overview of the fundamentals of research design in education and social science. The purposes of research, the scientific method, experimental-quantitative and nonexperimental-qualitative methods, and implementation of investigations.

Reference Universe

Enter your search terms:

Use the search box above to enter terms (child care, Ralph Nader, housing, etc.) into Reference Universe to find which reference books have information about your topic. Click on the title of a book in the list and you will go to the library catalog for the call number, location, and to find out whether it's checked in. If the book is online and you are on a campus computer or using the VPN you will have access to it.

Reference Universe is also available through the library's Article Databases and More page.

General Reference Resources

Why Use Reference Books?

Before you begin writing a paper it's helpful to have a good overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference material can help you.  If a topic looks interesting, but you don't know enough about it, or you want a source of information other than your textbook, academic reference sources are what you need.  You'll learn about the most important aspects of your topic, the important researchers, and many of these sources will list citations to key articles, books and book chapters.

I've listed some related reference material below, and the box to the left tells you how to find other reference sources using Reference Universe.  You can also ask a librarian about appropriate reference resources.  Contact me or use Get Help

Selected Reference Sources


Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education [electronic resource]. Available throught the library catalog.

Early Childhood Education: an international encyclopedia. Level 2, LB1139.23.E272 2007

Encyclopedia of Special Education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals. Check the library catalog for location.

Education and Technology: an encyclopedia. Level2, LB1028.E17 2004

World Education Encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide. LB15.W87 1988 (ARC)


Dictionary of Education. Available online through the library catalog.

Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Level 2, LC1099.D53 1997


The Crosscultural, Language, and Academic Development Handbook: a complete K-12 reference guide. Level 2, PE1128.A2D45 2010

Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity. Level 2, LB1576.H2337 2009

Inclusion Strategies for Young Children: a resource guide for teachers, child care providers, and parents. Level 2, LC1201.M66 2009

The Sage Handbook of African American Education. Level 2, LC2717.S34 2009

The General Educator's Guide to Special Education. Level 2, LC4019.M215 2009


Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours:
9-10 AM Tuesdays & Thursdays
By Appointment
WebsiteSkype Contact
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library