Family and Consumer Studies: Find Articles

Resources for library research in consumer studies and family economics, human development and family studies, environment and behavior, and social policy

Connect from Off Campus

Use the button located at the top right of this page and on the library home page.  You can also click on the link below for information about off-campus access using the Web VPN or VPN software.

FINDING ARTICLES - AN OVERVIEW

Click on the blue "i" button for examples.

Articles Now Available in Usearch, the Library Catalog

The library catalog, Usearch, includes articles: scholarly, peer reviewed and popular.  Most of these articles will be available full text directly from Usearch. When you use Usearch, look to the left side of the screen and you will see many ways to limit your search. Some of the most useful limits might be Peer-reviewed Journals listed in the Show Only category at the top and the various choices under Subject and Creation Date.  Click on the link below for a sample search.

Check out this LibGuide for information about how to search USearch effectively.

For more comprehensive article search results (and advanced searching capability), you should use the article databases as advised in other boxes on this page.

Getting Started

Use the databases listed in the box below to identify articles, conference papers, and similar items from popular and scholarly sources.  To access all Marriott Library databases see Article Databases and More.

  • You will get a citation (author, title, source, date), usually an abstract (a short summary),  and often the full text of the article.
  • Marriott won't own all items listed. If not, you may request a copy through Interlibrary Loan
  • Access varies depending on your location and status-- because of licensing agreements with database providers, only UU students, faculty, and staff have access to most databases from off campus.
  • Personalized help is available at the Knowledge Commons desk on level 2 of the Marriott Library or from the Library's Get Help.

Best Bet Databases for FCS

Other Helpful Databases

Subject Guide

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library