Images and Media for Research and Presentations: APA
Library Guides and Web Resources
- Style and Citation ManualsThis guide also contains call numbers and links to the catalog records of the guides in the Knowledge Commons Ready Reference Collection on the 2nd Floor of Marriott Library.
- NoodleTools"In short, NoodleTools will help you create and produce a perfectly stylized bibliography for each research paper or project that you must develop for any of your classes that require APA, MLA or Chicago/Turabian style as a standard for documentation (i.e., your citations)."
- Endnote and Endnote Web SupportEndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Purdue OWLThis website provides examples for citing visual and multimedia sources, and covers the basics of APA formatting and citation style.
- APA Style BlogThe APA Style Blog answers questions not generally covered in the manual, including FAQ's related to visual and multimedia material.
- Cite SourceAn excellent citation resource that provides useful information and examples for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Welcome!
Publication manual of the American Psychological AssociationLVL 2: Knowledge Commons Ready Reference
BF76.7 .P83 2010
APA is generally used by the social sciences and affiliated disciplines (Sociology, Education, Political Science, etc.). For more information, consult the guide directly.
Using and Citing Images and Visuals
Images and illustrations should be labeled as figures and numbered in the order in which they are referred to in the text (in-text, refer to the image by the figure number, e.g see fig. 3). The figure number appears beneath the image and should be followed by a caption, which should include a brief title, and/or an explanation of the figure (if necessary), and source information.
Basic Elements: Artist last name, First name (work date) Title [type of work]. From source of image.
If the image is from a book, the source information will include these elements: Title of Book (p. xxx), by Author First Initial. Last Name, Year of Publication, Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright year by copyright holder, usually the author.
If the image is retrieved from a website or database, the source information will read: Retrieval date (day month year) from Website or Database Name, URL
For instance:
Fig. 4. Kentridge, William (2003) Drawing from Tide Table: Soho on Balcony [drawing, charcoal on paper]. Retrieved 16 January 2012 from San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. http://www.sfmoma.org/explore/collection/artwork/116942#
