Microform at the Marriott Library
American Architectural Books
Based on two bibliographies, American Architectural Books : a List of Books, Portfolios, and Pamphlets on Architecture and Related Subjects Published in America Before 1895, by Henry Russell Hitchcock (call number NA200Z .H5 1962, in the stacks on Level 2), and A List of Architectural Books Available in America Before the Revolution, by Helen Park (call number NA200Z .P5 1973) this collection consists of books, portfolios, pamphlets, periodical reprints, church building records, how-to-do-it manuals, and proceedings and reports from professional associations and buildings teams. An Index to the Microfilm Edition of American Architectural Books, compiled by Julie K. Ellison, can be found in the Microforms Reference Collection (call number NA705.A69).
American Fiction 1774-1900
This collection is based on American Fiction : a Contribution toward a Bibliography, by Lyle H. Wright, which was published in three volumes covering the periods 1774-1850, 1851-1875 and 1876-1900 (call numbers Z1231.F4 W9 1969, Z1231.F4 W92 1978 and Z1231.F4 W93). There are no records in our catalog for the microfilm editions of the almost 11,000 titles included in this bibliography, so in order to determine which reel has the title you want you will need to use American Fiction, 1774-1900 : Cumulative Author Index of the Microfilm Collection (call number PS651.W75 Index in the Microforms Reference Collection on Level 2) and then go to the record for American Fiction, 1774-1900 [microform] in our catalog to initiate the ARC request. The titles in the second volume of the bibliography are available online as Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 thanks to the Indiana University Digital Library Program, and there are records for those online editions in our catalog.
Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana : A Dictionary of Books Relating to America, from its Discovery to the Present Time was an enormous undertaking for a single author, given that his scope was nothing less than "everything dealing with the political, governmental, military, economic, social and religious history of the Western Hemisphere from the discovery of the New World" until his own time. He began gathering information for it around 1851 and began publishing it in parts in 1867. By his death in 1881 he had published 13 volumes, containing over 57,000 entries and reaching through the letter O. Fortunately, his work was carried on by others equally dedicated to his vision (though hampered by inadequate funding), and it was finally completed in 1936. In total there are over 106,000 entries, probably representing over 250,000 publications.
In the 1960s Lost Cause Press began a project (now being continued by Gale) to make the individual items listed in Sabin's bibliography available on microfiche, initially using the collections of the Library of Congress, and later those of the Huntington Library in San Marino, California. The Marriott Library has an incomplete set of the Sabin microfiche, and an online subscription that covers Sabin titles issued beginning in 2006 (go to Sabin Americana in the list of the library's Article Databases). Be sure to check this online source first. If you need a Sabin title that can't be found through our subscription or in our collection, we will gladly order it in microfiche (contact Robert Behra for help).
- Last Updated: Jan 16, 2019 1:35 PM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/microforms
- Print Page