Physics and Astronomy: Find Articles

Find Articles

Electronic Journals

Primary Article Indexes
for Physics

Other Useful Article
Indexes

NOTE ON ELECTRONIC JOURNALS:  This resource is available to University of Utah users only
Marriott Library provides campus-wide electronic access to a large number of chemistry journals, including most publications of AIP, APS, and IOP. Electronic editions may be accessed by links from Marriott Library's catalog and/or list of electronic journals.

JSTOR General Science Collection  id= This resource is available to University of Utah users only     Maximum users: unlimited campus.                  

Unlike most electronic editions, which are available only for the last few years, JSTOR archives major journals from their earliest issues up to a "moving wall" (usually 2-5 years before the present). JSTOR presently includes full text of Science; Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences; Proceedings of the Royal Society of London; and the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London in its various title permutations from 1665 up to the moving wall.


PRIMARY ARTICLE INDEXES FOR PHYSICS:

INSPEC (Ei - Engineering Village)  id=(1969+; updated weekly)  This resource is available to University of Utah users only   Maximum users: unlimited campus.         
Our most comprehensive index for Physics. International coverage of physics, electronics and computer science information from thousands of source publications including journals, conference papers and technical reports. Provides links to full text articles from AIP, APS, IOP and a few other publishers' journals. Allows users to save citations in formats for bibliographic software such as  EndNote Web, Reference Manager, etc.
Print edition: (1898-1999) Now stored in the ARC--Science Abstracts (later, Series A Physics Abstracts), 1898-1999--Q1 .S3 (cancelled in 1999 to partially fund INSPEC database access)

IEL Online/IEEE Xplore  id= (1988-present; updates vary for each area)  This resource is available to University of Utah users only
Provides full-text access to the complete range of publications including journals, conference proceedings, and standards dating back to 1988 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Journals and transactions titles are also included in the library catalog; other IEEE publications are accessible through this service.
 

Scopus  (1996-present)  id= This resource available to University of Utah users only   Maximum users: unlimited campus.                         Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scholars need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. Updated daily, Scopus offers. Over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records, Results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals, Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.

 

Web of Knowledge/Web of Science   id= 1997 - present (articles may be earlier if they were CITED in articles published from 1997 on). This resource is available to University of Utah users only

Maximum users: unlimited campus.  Consolidated searching of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, multidisciplinary databases listing articles in 8500 major scholarly journals. To search science only, select the Web of Science database. This database is especially useful for finding articles which have cited a known article or given author in their bibliography. Search by topic, author, journal title, author's institution, cited author, cited work, cited year. Please logout when finished. A help link is available at the top of the database web page. Print versions of this index have the title Science Citation Index and cover earlier material than that of the available online version (1955- 2002) and are located in the ARC and have the call number Q1.A1Z S365.


ADDITIONAL USEFUL INDEXES


arXiv Preprint Server
Posts pre-publication "e-prints" of physics papers.  An Open Archives Initiative (OAI) archive.  arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Free website now from the Cornell University Library.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
"The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints."  THE major resource for information in the Astrophysics field.


Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
A US Department of Energy site to advance science and sustain technological creativity by sharing R&D findings available and useful to Department of Energy (DOE) researchers and the public.

USPTO -- United States Patent and Trademark Office DATABASE (1976-present, updated weekly)
Index and full text of U.S. patents. Free government website.
Graphics may only be viewed in image files, which requires a Tiff G4 plug-in (links to sites for free download are provided).  For further information, please see the Marriott Library Research Guide for Patents Trademarks and Copyright

Subject Guide

April Love's picture
April Love
Contact:
Marriott Library, Room 2110M
801-587-9606
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library