Standards (ASTM, Codes, IEEE, Industry & Techical): Library Resources

Additional Library Resources

Standards available at Marriott Library

 

NOTE to University of Utah Faculty: The J. Willard Marriott Library will purchase standards for regular faculty whenever they are needed to accomplish the teaching or research mission of the university. Simply fill out an interlibrary loan request online. Because of the exorbitant cost of some standards, the library reserves the right to limit the number or maximum cost of standards requests.

 

ACI - American Concrete Institute Manual of Concrete Practice. Most ACI standards are included in the ACI Manual of Concrete Practice. Our latest is the 1994 edition housed in the ARC: TA439 A5 1994, 5 volumes.

 

ANSI - American National Standards Institute
The Marriott Library will purchase standards from ANSI and ASME upon request by University of Utah Faculty, through the Interlibrary Loan office. Standards take 5-10 days to arrive. Faculty may request these standards on the library's website at  http://www.lib.utah.edu/libraryinfo/dept/ill/

ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
We carry the ANSI Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. 1998 is our latest edition located in the ARC, TJ290 .A514.
See a Listing of the ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel(BPV) Codes contained in this edition.
The Marriott Library will purchase standards from ANSI and ASME upon request by University of Utah Faculty, through the Interlibrary Loan office. Standards take 5-10 days to arrive. Faculty may request these standards on the library's website at  http://www.lib.utah.edu/libraryinfo/dept/ill/

 

ASTM - American Society for Testing and Materials The complete set of 2010 standards is available at the Knowledge Commons Reference Collection, Level 2; TA401 .A653 

  •  Older years and volumes in the ARC.

  NOTE: the Marriott Library has acquired the print 2010 edition of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards.

The Marriott Library usually purchases the ASTM Standards every 3 years.  Right now, the Marriott Library is unable to subscribe to the electronic version of the ASTM Standards.  We will re-visit the issue of subscribing to the online version of the ASTM Standards at a later date.

 

DIN - Deutsches Institut für Normung - German Institute for Standardization U.S. sales of DIN standards are handled by ANSI, contact Customer Service via email: storemanager@ansi.org or by telephone Customer Service or Document Sales: 1.212.642.4980

 

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. We do have all IEEE standards in the collection; they are available through the IEEExplore website. This site is accessible only on campus or if you are off campus, via VPN .

 

ISO - International Standards Organization ISO 9000 - quality control models and guidelines, adopted by the International Organization for Standardization. We have the three A-models and a few of the A-guidelines. In the U.S., the actual designations for the models are: ANSI/ASQM Q9001, ANSI/ASQM Q9002, ANSI/ASQM Q9003. The library also has a large number of books about ISO 9000 and its implementation; search the library catalog, or browse at call number section TS156.6.... We also carry many books detailing the interpretation and application of this standard. Check the library's catalog for more information.

MAD CAD 

Maximum users: 1 campus user
MAD CAD is a state-of-the-art subscription based reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD goes beyond compiling national standards, and gives you immediate access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet your unique architectural, engineering and educational solutions. Its ease of use lies in the implementation of a search engine and organizational tools.

National Electrical Code (NFPA): -  Most recent edition: 1996, housed in the ARC--TK3275 .N36

Also check the MAD CAD database

 

National Electrical Safety Code (IEEE/ANSI) 2002 edition is in Science General Collection, Level 1: TK152.I578 2002

Also Check the MAD CAD Database

 

NFPA - National Fire Protection Handbook 2006, vol. 1-15.  Set is in the ARC--TH9115.N3 2004/2005. NFPA also publishes the National Electrical Code, latest edition (1996) in the ARC--TK375 N36

 

SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers We have only the J-series (Ground Vehicles): in the SAE Handbook.  Latest volume(s) in the Knowledge Commons Reference, Level 2: TL1161 .S62

   

UL - Underwriters Laboratory We have some very old UL standards on microfiche; ask at the Science Desk. UL only sells its standards individually.

Subject Guide

April Love's picture
April Love
Pronouns: she, her, and they, them
Contact:
Marriott Library, Room 2110M
801-587-9606
Website / Blog Page
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library