Distance Education Online Resources: Online Resources

Using Databases

Article Databases by Subject

The Marriott Library has organized article databases by general discipline. To find databases related to your research, use the drop-down menu on the Article Database page found under the tab for Research Tools. Once you access the list of databases related to your research area, note that the databases are listed in alphabetical order rather than by relevance.

 

 

A Tip:  You may wonder what this symbol means when it appears in the some of the Marriott Library's article databases.  If you, the researcher, clicks on the link, the software represented by the icon will provide a link to an online version of the article if the library has purchased online access in any of our article databases.  You won’t have to look for the article in a printed version of the journal.

What are Open Access Journals?

From the Directory of Open Access Journals website: "We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition [1] of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory. "

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.

Click here to view Open Access Journals across many disciplines.

Digital Resources

The Marriott Library has been on the forefront of creating full-text digital collections.  Digital Collections by topic contains a wealth of material, including images and primary source material, from our extensive Special Collections.

One digital collection in particular that has been very popular is the Utah Digital Newspapers.  This collection is a constantly expanding, full-text database of historic Utah newspapers.

Also very popular is USpace. USpace is the University of Utah's Open Access Institutional Repository (IR). USpace collects and maintains intellectual writings such as published journal articles (pre- and post- print), conference papers and proceedings, creative research, data sets, reports, theses and dissertations, and other scholarly endeavors by the University of Utah faculty and provides free open access to anyone in the world. Read About USpace for more details on the University of Utah's Open Access Institutional Repository .

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library