Juvenile (K-12) Collection: Reference resources and journals about children's literature

This is a help guide to orient you to the services and collections in the Juvenile collection.

Why Use Reference Books?

Before you begin writing a paper it's helpful to have a good overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference material can help you.  If a topic looks interesting, but you don't know enough about it, or you want a source of information other than your textbook, academic reference sources are what you need.  You'll learn about the most important aspects of your topic, the important researchers, and many of these sources will list citations to key articles, books and book chapters.

I've listed some related reference material below.  You can also ask a librarian about appropriate reference resources.  Contact me or use Get Help

Selected Sources

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Children's Books and Their Creators. call number:  Z1037 .C5424 1995

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. call number:  PN1008.5 .C66 2003 [also available online -- see below for link]

International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. call number:  PN1008.5 .I57 1996

Book Reviews & Criticism (use in addition to the online resources mentioned below)

Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults. 1989. 4 vols. call number:  Z1037.A1 B38 1989

Children's Literature Review: Excerpts from Reviews, Criticism, and Commentary on Books for Children and Young Adults. 1976-2006 (in the ARC) call number:  PN1009.A1 C5139


100+ Literacy Lifesavers: a survival guide for librarians and teachers, 1-12. call number:  LB1573 .B235 2009

Children's Writers's and Illustrator's Market (most recent issue 2017). (in the ARC) call number:  PN147.5 .C48

Online Resources (including journals)


Robert Behra's picture
Robert Behra
Faculty Services Coordinator
Research and User Services
J. Willard Marriott Library
The University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860

Office: 2110K

fax: 801-581-3464
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library