Skip to main content

Toxic Substances and Environmental Medicine Research Tools: Tips and Tutorials

Research tips for finding articles, books, data and statistics on toxic substances and environmental medicine.

Helpful Tutorials

Off campus access

Off-campus or remote access to the University network is available for University of Utah faculty, students and staff.

For more detailed instructions visit the Library's Remote Access page.

The research process

Steps for locating information for a research paper/project:

  1. Select a topic of interest and then state your topic as a question
  2. Identify the key concepts and words that describe your question
  3. Locate and retrieve information sources that support the topic question; this includes using library catalogs to locate reference books, encyclopedias, bibliographies, handbooks, statistics, videos, and other media
  4. Use online databases to find journal articles, newspapers, statistics, and other kinds of supporting materials
  5. Find Internet resources; this may include government documents, images, graphs, data, maps and more
  6. Evaluate what you find; take detailed notes; summarize and quote source material accurately
  7. Cite your sources of information accurately
    • Use a bibliographic management program such as EndNote to organize materials and write your paper with properly formatted citations

Did you know?

Most scholarly journals available on campus require the libraries to pay license and subscription fees annually.

When libraries license research databases, full text to articles or data requires additional payments.