On this page, you will find the information about all of the apps and resources you will be evaluating during the Pediatrics rotation. The information resources are broken out according to the type of information you might search for in each, including: background, infectious diseases, foreground, and pharmacology.
By the end of this session, students will:
Use these apps to identify background information about your clinical questions.
- Register & create personal account by using the Register/Login button on the UpToDate main search page.
- Download app for your device. (See links below.)
- Once your registration is confirmed you may now use those UpToDate credentials to login via your mobile device
- Please note: 1) the enterprise app does require internet and 2) you will need to log into your UpToDate account once a month
- Download the app from the iTunes Store or Google Play. (See links below.)
- Open DynaMed
- Click on - top of DynaMed screen in blue bar
- Enter your university email address when prompted
- Open email on your mobile device
- Open the authentication key message from and tap the link to authenticate the app
-Note: If email link is not activated within 48 hours, users will need to request a new authentication key from the DynaMed page
These information resources contain information about infectious diseases.
You've used Lexicomp for drug-related questions, but it also contains infectious diseases information! Click the Diseases link in the Explore by General Category box for information specific to infectious diseases.
The American Academy of Pediatrics publishes this report from the Committee on Infectious Diseases specific to the pediatric population.
Access Red Book electronically from the Library's Catalog.
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.
-Create your personal login and password within VisualDx
-Download the app
-Log in using your account credentials
Access to accurate drug information is critically important! Use these resources to answer your drug-related questions.
Harriet Lane Handbook
Available through ClinicalKey, The Harriet Lane Handbook is easy to navigate and can be searched by topic (in the form of book chapters) or using an A-Z index.
This multi-faceted tool contains drug, toxicology, and infectious diseases information. The Lexicomp app is an excellent way to search drug information quickly at the bedside.
-Email email@example.com and ask for a code to access the Lexicomp app free!
-Instructions on how to download and install the app will be included with your code
FREE web-based drug reference includes the same prescribing and safety information that's available in Epocrates Rx® free handheld software, as well as patient education handouts and full-color pill pictures.
These databases are good places to search for foreground information on the specifics of your clinical case.
With millions of primary source materials in biomedicine and health, PubMed should be one of your first stops when looking for journal articles, systematic reviews, clinical trials, observational studies and a host of other information.
PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available. It features:
- PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
- askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
- Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page.
- CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy... and more.
Starting your search in Google Scholar is perfectly reasonable. Just be sure to use your critical assessment skills when reviewing the results!
- Click on Settings
- Add University of Utah - Get it @ UU to your Library Links
Over 1,100 medical and surgical ebooks, 500 medical ejournals, 13,000 medical and surgical videos and 4 million images are contained in this database. You're bound to find information to answer your question here!