Education, Leadership, & Policy: Education Journals

The Department of Educational Leadership & Policy emphasizes the application of theory and research to the practice of administration in K-12 schools as well as preparation for scholarly and administrative endeavors in higher education.

What are Open Access Journals?

From the Directory of Open Access Journals website: "We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition [1] of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory. "

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.

Click here to view Open Access Journals across many disciplines.

Marriott Library Journals

The journals listed here will be very helpful for your scholarly research. You can discover these journals in the Marriott Library by going to Usearch, the Library Catalog, and typing  the journal's title in the search box. TIP: Checking the print volumes as well as the online subscription will provide more comprehensive information about the volumes in the library. The subscriptions may not overlap. You can check by using the "View Resource" link or the "Locations & Request" link which ever is present.

Need more suggestions??  Use the Library Catalog to identify additional scholarly (print or online) journals by following this process:

  1. Type in the name of the journal in the search box.
  2. Limit the results to Journals (on the sidebar at the left).
  3. Once identified as being in the library, check to see if the journal volume is available online. Note: Not all online journals include every volume that has been published.
  4. If the journal is available onlie, click on the link which will take you out of the library (this is the "View Resource" link).
  5. If the journal volume is not available online, click the "Locations &  Request" link, then the "Arc Click Request" to see if the Marriott Library has the volume in print. You will need to be logged into your "My Account" in Usearch.

Using the library catalog to find an article within a journal. So you've discovered a great article, but the article database only provides you with the information to find the article, not the full text of the article. To remind you how to use Usearch, the library catalog to learn whether or not you can find the journal that the article appears in, follow the process outlined above. NEW:  you will find some related articles by using the library catalog; keep in mind that the best method to access articles on your subject is to use the Article Databases for Education. 

Selected Scholarly Education Journals:

American Educational Research Journal

Chronicle of Higher Education

College Teaching

Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis

Educause Review

Educational Researcher

Harvard Educational Review

Journal of Blacks in Higher Education

Journal of Child Language

Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics

Journal of Cases in Educational Leadership

Journal of College and University Law

Journal of Eduational Research

Journal of Higher Education

Journal of Negro Education

New Directions for Higher Education

Research in Higher Education

Psychology in the Schools

Review of Educational Research

Review of Higher Education

Review of Research in Higher Education

Science Education

Sociology of Education

Teachers College Record

Yearbook of Education Law; Annual publication which routinely includes a chapter on higher education law.

Librarian

Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Contact:
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours: By Appointment
801-585-0542
Website Skype Contact: dziegenfuss
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library