Education, Leadership, & Policy: Encyclopedias and other Reference Resources

The Department of Educational Leadership & Policy emphasizes the application of theory and research to the practice of administration in K-12 schools as well as preparation for scholarly and administrative endeavors in higher education.

Search Reference Books

>

Why Use Reference Books?

Before you begin writing a paper it's helpful to have a good overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference material can help you.  If a topic looks interesting, but you don't know enough about it, or you want a source of information other than your textbook, academic reference sources are what you need.  You'll learn about the most important aspects of your topic, the important researchers, and many of these sources will list citations to key articles, books and book chapters.

I've listed some related reference material below, and the box to the left tells you how to find other reference sources using Reference Universe.  You can also ask a librarian about appropriate reference resources.  Contact me or use Get Help

Selected Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Education.  2nd ed. Marriott Library, LVL 2: General Collection LB15 .E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Leadership. Marriott Library, LVL 2: General Collection HD57.7.H54 2001

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership & Administration. Marriott Library, LVL 2 General Collection, LB2805 .E527 2006

Sage Handbook of Educational Leadership. Marriott Library. LVL 2: General Collection,LB2805.S262 2005  

World Education Encyclopedia: a survey of education systems worldwide. Check the library catalog for location.

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education [electronic resource]. An electronic book accessible through the World Wide Web, click on the link in the library catalog.

More resources can be identified by using this subject heading:

Educational leadership   United States

Keeping Current

Education Week Online is a great online resource for up-to-date news.

Librarian

Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Contact:
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours:
9-10 AM Tuesdays & Thursdays
By Appointment
801-585-0542
Website Skype Contact: dziegenfuss
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library