Education, Culture, and Society: Statistics & Research

The Department of Education, Culture, and Society is committed to the study of social justice in education by addressing questions about class, race, ethnicity, and gender in contemporary educational practice and policy.

Library Databases--Statistics

You may examine all of the library databases available for statistical research and analysis by selecting Article Databases and selecting Statistics/Data Resource using the By Type drop-down box. Below are a few selected from the list:

American Factfinder An online tool for searching U.S. Census datasets including: Decennial Census; American Community Survey; Puerto Rico Community Survey; Annual population estimates; Economic Census.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States: Major source for social, political, and economic statistics of the U.S. Links to earlier editions are provided as well.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) A unique selection of sociological and demographical data available to those affiliated with the University of Utah. Please note that ICSPR files are not available for downloading from library computers. They are available from other UU computers. The contact for instruction in how to use this database is Linda Keiter.

There is an excellent library guide on Demographic Statistics from the U.S. Census and other sources.

Another excellent library guide is Social Sciences Data Resources. Click on the tab for Education.

Selected Sources

National Sources

ACT: Reports and Policy Reports
ACT provides scholarly and technical reports on a variety of topics, including test and test-item fairness, test reliability and validity, improving the achievement of at-risk populations, and the determinants of academic success.

Almanac of Higher Education
Go to the "Online Journal", then click on "Facts and "Figures," and finally select the tab for the "Almanac of Higher Education."

Center for Research in Educational Policy

College Board:  Research Reports
Data, reports, and research provided by the College Board,

College InSight
Provides data on college affordability, diversity, and student success, and provides tools to compare and analyze this data.  Provides data for almost 5,000 U.S. colleges and universities. In addition to college-level data, it features totals and averages for states, sectors, and other groupings of colleges.

Digest of Education Statistics

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research  
ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.  For more information about how Illinois State University faculty and students can access ICPSR, contact Linda Keiter.

National Center for Education Statistics
The primary source of education statistics collected by the U.S. government.

National Survey of Student Engagement 
Designed to obtain, on an annual basis, information from scores of colleges and universities nationwide about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development.

University of Utah Data Sources

Office of Budget & Institutional Analysis

Office of Equity and Diversity

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library