FCS 6901 Thesis Development Seminar: Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Hours: 8 am to 5 pm Monday-Friday
Interlibrary Loan Staff
295 S 1500 E Salt Lake City, UT
IMPORTANT COPYRIGHT INFORMATION
WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
- What is ILL?
- What is Doc Del?
- Who Can Use It?
- What Can I Get?
- Pick up
- Loan Period
- Where is ILL?
- Request History
Interlibrary Loan provides access to items such as books, newspapers, journal articles, dissertations, etc. from a wide variety of sources that are not available in the Marriott Library. By use of a library system called OCLC, which may be accessed by you via the WorldCat database, we have access to millions of volumes. In most instances electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours and books can be provided to you within 1 to 2 weeks.
Document Delivery provides electronic access to journal articles and book chapters from the Marriott Library print collection. Delivery time will be approximately 24-48 hours. You are able to submit your interlibrary loan and document delivery requests through your same ILLiad login. Our staff will determine if what you are requesting is something the Marriott Library owns or if we need to request your material from another library. Journal articles and book chapters from the Marriott Library print collection will be scanned and delivered as PDF files to your ILLiad account. You will be notified via email when your items are available electronically.
Marriott Library Interlibrary Loan is for the use of current University of Utah students in degree and certificate granting programs, faculty, staff, and emeritus faculty of the University of Utah. Health sciences students, faculty, and staff patrons submit requests through Eccles Health Sciences Library and Law School patrons submit requests through James E. Faust Law Library, S.J. Quinney College of Law.
There is no charge for Marriott Library Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services.
Interlibrary Loan provides access to items such as books, newspapers, journal articles, dissertations, etc. from a wide variety of sources that are not available in the Marriott Library.
Marriott Library materials that are currently checked out by other patrons can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Journals do not circulate, but articles can be requested.
Many items can be provided from alternative sources, such as online full-text databases like JSTOR or EBSCOhost Web Databases. These Research Databases are available on the Marriott Library web page. Some dissertations are available for free downloading through Dissertations & Theses: Global.
Not all items are available from Interlibrary Loan. Most libraries will not loan rare or valuable materials, including manuscripts, basic reference materials, or materials in high demand. Dissertations that do not circulate may be purchased from Dissertations & Theses: Global.
Books are held at the Level 1 Information and Security Desk. Notification of their availability will be sent to you via email. The owning library may require the material to remain in the Marriott Library. If so, it will be held in the Special Collections Reading Room on the 4th floor and you will be notified via email.
If necessary, you can arrange for someone else to pick up an Interlibrary Loan hold for you. The person who picks up the item must show the staff at the West Entrance an email from you giving that person permission.
Campus Delivery of interlibrary loan materials is available to main campus faculty, staff, and graduate students. Please enter your department location (e.g. LINCO 1400) in the Campus Delivery field when submitting your ILL request. After the materials arrive at our library, they will be delivered to your office within 1 to 2 business days. To arrange for a pickup, please email the Pull and Delivery Service.
Articles will be posted on your ILLiad account online. You will receive an email notifying you of their availability.
Borrowed items are to be returned to the Information & Security Desks at either the West Entrance on level 1 or the East Entrance on level 3. Patrons will be held responsible for overdue fines and/or replacement costs of missing books as a result of removing ILL labels or returning to any other location. To arrange for a pickup from your main campus office, please email the Pull and Delivery Service.
Interlibrary Loan materials are meant for short term use only. Due dates for Interlibrary Loan materials are assigned by the lending library. Lending libraries have the right to recall Interlibrary Loan materials and you might be asked to return items before the due date.
Interlibrary Loan materials may be renewed for 2 weeks from the original due date, pending the approval of the owning institution. You can request a renewal through your ILLiad account or by contacting our office by phone (801-581-6010) or email. Please reference the Transaction Number (TN) of your request.
Each Interlibrary Loan item has the due date printed on the ILL book strap. Items need to be returned by the due date to a Marriott Library Information & Security Desk. One week after the due date, you will be charged a $1.00 overdue fine per day past the due date up to $50.00. Two weeks after the due date, you will be blocked from using Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.
The overdue fines will not be forgiven. If you do not return Interlibrary Loan items, you are responsible for any replacement costs charged by the supplying library. This fine needs to be paid in person at a Library Information & Security Desk or by calling 801-581-8558 with a credit card.
Reminder and overdue notices are sent as a courtesy. You are responsible for returning ILL books on time. Not all Interlibrary Loan items are eligible for renewal. Please plan to return items on or before the due date.
The Interlibrary Loan office is located on the 5th floor of the Marriott Library. Patron access to the ILL office is unavailable. You can contact us via telephone at 801-581-6010 or email us with any additional questions.
The Interlibrary Loan contact hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
You can view the records of your past Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery requests for three years. Requests older than three years are removed from the ILLiad server each year. If you want to keep a record of your past requests, please print or save a copy. If you need assistance call 801-581-6010 or email email@example.com.
Why was my request cancelled?
Some of the reasons your Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery request might be canceled are listed below with a brief explanation.
This is a duplicate request.
Your request may be canceled if you have already requested the same book or article within a short time frame. These requests are usually accidental. If there is a problem with a book or article you receive through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery, please reply to the email notification you receive and let us know. You can also call 801-581-6010 8 AM-5 PM, Monday-Friday.
Sorry, we are unable to fill this request.
We will borrow books from anywhere in the United States or Canada. We use OCLC, the world’s most comprehensive library database, to verify requests. You will receive this cancelation message only if we are unable to find a library that will supply the item to us. If the item is available for purchase online, you can suggest that the library purchase the book: http://www.lib.utah.edu/services/suggest-a-purchase.php.
Sorry, textbook and course-required material is not available through Interlibrary Loan.
The library provides textbooks and materials required for current University of Utah courses through its Open Reserve. The books are put on the Open Reserve shelves for students to use in the library or for short loan periods, depending upon the instructor’s preference. Free book scanners are available near Open Reserve for your convenience. More information is available on the Reserve page: http://www.lib.utah.edu/services/faculty-course-reserves.php.
Item is Non-circulating.
Libraries set their own policies regarding what they will lend through Interlibrary Loan. A library may refuse to lend an item that is rare, delicate, or in high demand.
ILL/Document Delivery will supply only one book chapter, but not more than 10% of a book.
If you need more than one chapter or if the chapter you are requesting is more than 10% of the book, please request the book. You can then use the free book scanners in the library if there are portions of the book you need scanned.
We cannot verify your affiliation with the University of Utah.
Marriott Library Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery only provides our services to current students, faculty and staff of the University of Utah. If you are no longer affiliated with the University of Utah, please submit interlibrary loan requests through your local library.
This title is not available in English.
If you specify in your request that you will not accept non English, your request may be canceled if we are unable to verify that any library owns the title in English. Sometimes a journal article or book will have the title and summary translated into English, but the main text is only available in another language.
The item you are requesting is too new for an Interlibrary Loan.
If an item has only been published as an e-book or has had a very limited release, we might not be able to provide it through Interlibrary Loan. In this case, you will need to wait until more libraries own the book to request it or you can suggest that the library purchase the book: http://www.lib.utah.edu/services/suggest-a-purchase.php.