Educational Psychology 3030: Encyclopedias and other Reference Resources

The goals of this course are to engage students in studying and understanding research in education, and how research can be used to inform and improve educational practice.

Search Reference Books

General Reference Resources

Why Use Reference Books?

Before you begin writing a paper it's helpful to have a good overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference material can help you.  If a topic looks interesting, but you don't know enough about it, or you want a source of information other than your textbook, academic reference sources are what you need.  You'll learn about the most important aspects of your topic, the important researchers, and many of these sources will list citations to key articles, books and book chapters.

I've listed some related reference material below, and the box to the left tells you how to find other reference sources using Credo Reference.  You can also ask a librarian about appropriate reference resources.  Contact me or use Get Help

Selected Reference Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Educational Psycholoy Marriott Library LVL 2: General Collection A-PZ (LB1050.9 .E63 2008 )

HANDBOOKS

Handbook of Educational Psychology

STATISTICAL SOURCES

Digest of Education Statistics (website)

National Center for Education Statistics (website)

Keeping Current

Education Week Online is a great online resource for up-to-date news.

Using alerts, you are able to keep current with newly published research. You can set up alerting services in specific databases or for specific journals. The process differs depending on the type of alert and source of the alert. When registering to receive alerts, you often have two choices. You may register to receive the alerts  when a new issue is published. You actually get the table of contents via the alert. Sometimes the alerts will inform you when the database periodically runs a search and new results are identified. If you are using ERIC via EBSCO or any of the EBSCO databases, click here to view a tutorial on setting up alerts.

Librarian

Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Contact:
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours:
9-10 AM Tuesdays & Thursdays
By Appointment
801-585-0542
Website Skype Contact: dziegenfuss
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library