Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

Engineering-LEAP | Dale Larsen: Spring Special: Art and Images

Introduction

Images in the Library

Journalism: 
www.lib.utah.edu > research databases (tab) > A > AP Images

Art & Cultural
www.lib.utah.edu > research databases (tab) > O > Oxford Art Online
www.lib.utah.edu > research databases (tab) > A > ArtSTOR

Using images from articles and books that you have already worked with is a fantastic idea -less work for you and consistency in your message:

www.lib.utah.edu > research databases (tab) > A > Academic Search Premier
www.lib.utah.edu > Library Catalog


OPEN WEB
News/Journalism Associations/Wire Services
Reuters
World Press Photo
Look for local (to your topic) newspapers
(New York Times, Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times -all good sources for photos, often embedded in relevant articles)
and Flickr Commons

Citing Images

What do MLA Citations of Images/Photographs look like?
(all generated using NoodleTools in the library databases list)

NEWSPAPER ON THE OPEN WEB
Chin, Barry. "Number of homeless Mass. families doubles in 9 years." The Boston Globe [Boston],
23  Feb. 2017. The Boston Globe, www.bostonglobe.com. Accessed 5 Apr. 2017. 
ARTICLE DATABASE FROM THE LIBRARY WEBSITE
Getty Images. New York City's Homelessness Rate At All Time High. 20 June 2011. 
Academic Search Premier, Ebsco, 20 June 2011, web.a.ebscohost.com/. Accessed 5 Apr. 2017. 
ARTSTOR (IMAGE DATABASE ON LIBRARY WEBSITE)
Lange, Dorothea. Migrant Family, Texas. 1936. ArtStor, library.artstor.org/. Accessed 5 Apr. 2017. 
AP IMAGES (IMAGE DATABASE ON LIBRARY WEBSITE)
Salz, Alberto. Spain Motorcycle Grand Prix. 9 Nov. 2012. AP Images, classic.apimages.com/.
Accessed  5 Apr. 2017. 

 

Morrocco

Barbey, Bruno. The Sidi Bel Abbes Mosque. 1993. Photograph. Magnum Photos, New York. 

What the WHAT? Definitions

What could you find in Special Collections? Special Collections contain unique, rare, or regional resources. They often contain collections of personal papers, unpublished materials like correspondence and diaries, photographs, home movies, oral histories, and other material that is regionally relevant. Special Collections resources do not leave the library; they are frequently very valuable and could never be replaced if they go missing. 

Special Collections in Marriott Library is located on Level 4.

A Digital Library is defined as a collection of materials in electronic form. That's a pretty simple definition, but really we're not just referring to e-books. The term Digital Library, in practice, is used to refer to Special Collections-type material that has been digitized and made available online. Sometimes this does include books, but most often it is photographs, oral histories, and personal papers. 

Marriott Library's Digital Library  Also try out the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

A Finding Aid is a guide to the contents of a collection. It's sort of like of like the record for a book you would find in the library's catalog, but more in-depth. Sometimes it has links to the material it talks about (if the material has been digitized) but most often it does NOT. Take a look at this for an example: Norma W. Matheson papers

Resources for Today's Assignment

ArtStor can also be used for finding Special Collections-type material. Many museums AND libraries serve as archives for artists (for instance, the Audio Visual Archives at the Marriott Library are the archives for filmmaker Trent Harris) and very frequently, especially with multimedia material, there is a lot of crossover between fine art and documentary media. 

Digital Library Searching Tips

Start broad. Use the facets on the left side of the screen in each site to narrow items to "images" or to narrow down to specific date periods. 

If you get a ton of results, you can try using more specific search terms, or put quotation marks around a phrase so that the search engine reads it as a phrase, not as separate words. 

If you're not finding anything, use lots of different keywords e.g. for Scandinavian Americans, you could think about using the keywords: Norway/Norwegian, Danish/Denmark, Sweden/Swedish, etc. 

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library