Audio-Visual Archive: Home
Other Library Multimedia
Not what you were looking for?
We focus on rare materials and obsolete formats. To find more readily available and commercial movies and albums in the library try the Knowledge Commons on Level 2. Audio-visual materials can also be found the library Catalog or Digital Collections.
For digitized multimedia from the University of Utah and throughout the region check out the Mountain West Digital Library.
ArtsForce: Careers in the Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated May 30, 2018 34 views this year
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated May 30, 2018 261 views this year
by Jessica Breiman Last Updated May 30, 2018 75 views this year
Copyright for the Fine & Performing Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated May 30, 2018 83 views this year
Digital Public Library of America
by Jessica Breiman Last Updated Sep 2, 2015 24 views this year
Film and Media Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated May 30, 2018 262 views this year
How to Find Media in the Marriott Library
by Joni Clayton Last Updated May 30, 2018 26 views this year
Images and Media for Research and Presentations
by Greg Hatch Last Updated May 30, 2018 160 views this year
Utah Independent Film Archive
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated May 30, 2018 29 views this year
Utah Ski Archives
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated May 30, 2018 106 views this year
by Greg Hatch Last Updated May 30, 2018 255 views this year
Edward Abbey 1972
The Audio-Visual Archive is located on the Fourth Floor and is part of the Multimedia division of Special Collections. We are a repository for unique moving image and sound material from Utah and the West.
Our collections include:
- Student and independent films
- Oral histories
- Home movies
- Local news, sports and radio programs
- And many other rare and fascinating materials representative of the region's rich cultural and social history!
We are constantly working to make more of this vast and ever growing resource available digitally to students and the public for viewing, research and other artistic purposes. A number of collections already have finding aids or clips available online.
Although many items are copyrighted, many others are available for use in student and commercial audio and video productions. The staff in the Multimedia Archives digitizes items and provides them to patrons on CDs and DVDs to help preserve the sensitive originals.
Audio-Visual Archive Highlights
"On the Cover"
Bill Langton (L), Al Londema and O.L. "Brig" Tapp (R) show off their 16mm cameras at a Utah Cine Arts Club event ca. 1950.
The Audio-Visual Archive is home to much of Utah's historic amateur and independent film, including the films of O.L. Tapp.