Audio-Visual Archive: U of U Football: Digitized

Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West

Contact Us

For more information about the AV archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Molly Rose Steed                        Moving Image and Sound Archivist

Jessica Breiman                                    Audio-Visual Assistant

Phone                                        (801) 585-6200

Favorite U of U Sport?

Which University of Utah varsity sport is your favorite?

Favorite U of U Sport?
Baseball/Softball: 1 votes (2.44%)
Basketball: 7 votes (17.07%)
Football: 30 votes (73.17%)
Gymnastics: 1 votes (2.44%)
Skiing: 0 votes (0%)
Soccer: 0 votes (0%)
Swimming and Diving: 0 votes (0%)
Tennis: 1 votes (2.44%)
Track and Field/Cross Country/Golf: 0 votes (0%)
Volleyball: 1 votes (2.44%)
Total Votes: 41

University of Utah Football

Special Collections is currently undertaking a large project to digitize all of the University of Utah football films and make them available on DVD for U of U alumni, researchers, and other patrons.

This project will take several years to complete.

University of Utah football films are found in two collections:

  • A0319 University of Utah Football
    • coach's films taken by and owned by the University of Utah.  DVD copies from A0319 University of Utah Football are available for $10/disc

  • A0303 KUTV News
    • broadcast videos taken by and owned by KUTV Channel 2.  DVD copies from A0303 KUTV News require written permission from KUTV

Once it has been digitized, ALL football footage is available for viewing in the Special Collections reading room on Level 4 free of charge.

Please be aware that complete games do not always exist.

Games and reels listed on this page have already been digitized and are available for for viewing with 48 hours notice. 

Access to games not listed here may take several months. 

We apologize for any inconvenience.

A0319 University of Utah Football


Copyright owned by the University of Utah

Copies available for $10/disc

This list consists of all the available digitized football reels from the University of Utah's collection of coach's films (1934-1999). Please allow 48 hours notice to view any item on this list. Copies of other films in this collection may take several months. An inventory of the complete collection is available here.

List updated: 08/25/14

    • 1934
    • 1949
      • 10/15 - Utah vs. Denver
        • Highlights
      • 10/29 - Utah vs. Colorado
        • Highlights
    • 1975
      • 10/18 - Utah vs. New Mexico
        • Game highlights reel 1
        • Game highlights reel 2
        • Game highlights reel 3
        • Game highlights reel 4
    • 1976
      • 10/23 - Utah vs. Wyoming
        • Kicking reel 1
      • 11/20 - Utah vs. BYU
        • Offense reel 2
      • 11/27 - Utah vs. Louisiana State
        • Offense reel 1
        • Offense reel 2
  • 1978
  • Position Highlights
    • Lindsay, Rogers, Walker, Richeson and Monroe
    • Tony Lindsay reel 1
    • Tony Lindsay reel 2

  • 1980
  • Position Highlights
    • Counters (8-23)

    • 1981
      • 11/21 - Utah vs. Brigham Young University (BYU)
        • Defense reel 1
        • Defense reel 2
  • Position Highlights
  • Counter trap
  • Delays, fullbacks, halfbacks, tight ends (1977-1981)
  • Power I plays (1977-1981)
  • RAM G sweep (1977-1981)
  • Steve Folsom (1979-1981)
  • Rob Richeson (1977-1981)
  • Del Rodgers (1978-1981)
      • 1982
        • 09/11 - Utah vs. Arizona State
          • Defense reel 1
        • 09/18 - Utah vs. Texas
          • Offense reel 1
          • Offense reel 2
        • 10/01 - Utah vs. Colorado State
          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2
        • 10/09 - Utah vs. Hawaii
          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2
        • 10/23 - Utah vs. Wyoming
          • Offense reel 1
          • Offense reel 2
        • 10/30 - Utah vs. San Diego State (SDSU)
          • Defense reel 1
        • 11/06 - Utah vs. Utah State
          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2
        • 11/20 - Utah vs. BYU
          • Offense reel 1
          • Offense reel 2
        • Position Highlights
          • Kickoffs
          • Kickoff returns
          • Opponent punts reel 1
          • Opponent punts reel 2
          • Options, runs and passes
          • Place kicks
          • Place kicks - defense
          • Punts reel 1
          • Punts reel 2
          • Scrimmage kicks

    • Place kick defense extra points
    • Play action passes (1977-1982)

        • 1983
          • 09/03 - Utah vs. New Mexico
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Special teams reel 1
          • 09/10 - Utah vs. Arizona
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 09/17 - Utah vs. SDSU
            • Offense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 09/24 - Utah vs. Hawaii
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 10/01 - Utah vs. Colorado State
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 10/08 - Utah vs. University of Texas El Paso (UTEP)
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 10/15 - Utah vs. Wyoming
            • Defense reel 1
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 10/22 - Utah vs. Air Force
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 11/05 - Utah vs. Cal State Fullerton
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 11/12 - Utah vs. Utah State
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Kicking reel 1
          • 11/19 - Utah vs. BYU
            • Defense reel 1
            • Defense reel 2
            • Offense reel 1
            • Offense reel 2
            • Offense reel 3
            • Kicking reel 1
          • Position Highlights
            • Fake punts, point returns
            • Goal line defense
            • Kickoffs reel 1
            • Kickoffs reel 2
            • Punt returns
            • Punts reel 1
            • Punts reel 2

      • Scrimmage kicking
      • Place kick defense
      • Place kick extra points and field goals
      • Kickoff returns
      • Draws (1977-1983)
      • Sweeps and pitches (1981-1983)

            • Player Highlights
              • Hilria Johnson highlights
          • 1984
            • 09/01 - Utah vs. Weber State
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
            • 09/09 - Utah vs. Washington State
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
            • 09/15 - Utah vs. Tennessee
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
              • Kicking reel 2
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
            • 09/22 - Utah vs. Air Force
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
              • Kicking extra footage
            • 09/29 - Utah vs. Wyoming
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 10/05 - Utah vs. New Mexico
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 2
            • 10/13 - Utah vs. SDSU
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 10/20 - Utah vs. Hawaii
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 10/27 - Utah vs. UTEP
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 11/03 - Utah vs. Colorado State
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 11/10 - Utah vs. Utah State
              • Offense reel 1
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
            • 11/17 - Utah vs. BYU
              • Offense reel 1
              • Offense reel 2
              • Defense reel 1
              • Defense reel 2
              • Kicking reel 1
        • Position Highlights
        • Scrimmage kicking
        • Kickoffs
        • Punts
        • Stack cover run
            • 1985
              • "Flying High"
                • Promotional film and season highlights produced by Four Square Productions for the University of Utah and the Coca Cola Bottling Company of Salt Lake City
              • 09/07 - Utah vs. Boise State
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 09/14 - Utah vs. Hawaii
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 09/21 - Utah vs. Washington State
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
                • 40 draw
              • 09/28 - Utah vs. UTEP
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
                • Kicking reel 2
                • Kicking reel 3
              • 10/04 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
              • 10/12 - Utah vs. Arizona State
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 10/19 - Utah vs. SDSU
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 10/26 - Utah vs. Air Force
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 11/02 - Utah vs. Utah State
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2
                • Defense reel 1
                • Defense reel 2
                • Kicking reel 1
              • 11/09 - Utah vs. New Mexico
                • Offense reel 1
                • Offense reel 2

          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2

                • Kicking reel 1
          • 11/16 - Utah vs. Colorado State
          • Offense reel 1
          • Offense reel 2
          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2
          • Kicking
          • 11/23 - Utah vs. BYU
          • Offense reel 1
          • Offense reel 2
          • Defense reel 1
          • Defense reel 2
          • Kicking
          • Position Highlights
          • Extra points and field goals
          • Place kick defense extra points and field goals
          • Kickoff returns reel 1
          • Kickoff returns reel 2
          • Kickoffs reel 1
          • Kickoffs reel 2
          • Punt returns reel 1
          • Punt returns reel 2
          • Punts reel 1
          • Punts reel 2
          • Errol Tucker return highlights (1984-1985)
              • 1987
                • 11/07 - Utah vs. UTEP
                  • Defense reel 2
                  • End zone defense reel 1
                  • End zone defense reel 2
                  • Offense reel 1
                • 11/14 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                  • Defense reel 1
                  • Defense reel 2
                  • End zone defense reel 1
                  • End zone defense reel 2
                  • Offense reel 1
                  • Offense reel 2
                  • Kicking reel 1
              • 1988
                • 11/05 - Utah vs. Colorado State
                  • Defense - end zone camera
                  • Defense - wide camera
              • 1990
                • 09/08 - Utah vs. Minnesota
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
              • 1992
                • 09/05 - Utah vs. Nebraska
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 09/26 - Utah vs. Oregon State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/03 - Utah vs. Colorado State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/17 - Utah vs. New Mexico
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/24 - Utah vs. UTEP
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/31 - Utah vs. Air Force
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/14 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/21 - Utah vs. BYU
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - end zone camera
                • 12/29 - Utah vs. Washington State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
              • 1993
                • 09/04 - Utah vs. Arizona State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 09/11 - Utah vs. Utah State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 09/18 - Utah vs. Kansas
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 09/25 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide cagmera
                • 10/02 - Utah vs. Idaho
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/09 - Utah vs. New Mexico
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/16 - Utah vs. UTEP10/23 - Utah vs. Colorado State
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/30 - Utah vs. SDSU
                  • Defense - end zone and wide cameras
                • 11/06 - Utah vs. Hawaii
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/13 - Utah vs. Air Force
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/20 - Utah vs. BYU12/30 - Utah vs. University of Southern California (USC)
                  • Defense - end zone and wide cameras
                  • Defense - end zone and wide cemeras
              • 1994
                • 09/03 - Utah vs. Utah State
                  • Defense - wide camera
                • 09/19 - Utah vs. Idaho State
                  • Defense - wide and tight cameras
                • 09/17 - Utah vs. Oregon
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 09/24 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                  • Defense - wide and tight cameras
                • 10/08 - Utah vs. SDSU
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 10/15 - Utah vs. Hawaii
                  • Defense - wide camera
                • 10/22 - Utah vs. Colorado State
                  • Defense - wide and tight cameras
                • 10/29 - Utah vs. UTEP
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/05 - Utah vs. New Mexico
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 11/12 - Utah vs. Air Force
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 12/27 - Utah vs. Arizona
                  • Defense - wide camera
              • 1996
                • 09/28 - Utah vs. Kansas
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
                • 12/27 - Utah vs. Wisconsin
                  • Offense, defense, special teams - wide camera
              • 1997
                • Miscellaneous
                  • Player head shots
            • Undated
            • Position Highlights
              • Spring defense - run 43 regular stack
              • Sweep screens and related plays

            A0303 KUTV News

            Copyright owend by KUTV News

            Copies available only with permission from KUTV.

            This list consists of all the available digitized football games in the KUTV News collection. Please allow 48 hours notice to view any item on this list

            List updated: 08/09/12

            new items are red


            • 1976
              • Football squad interviews
                • Interviews conducted by University of Utah coaches. This item was produced in part by the University of Utah and does not require special permission from KUTV.
            • 1979
              • "Embraceable U"
                • Promotional film and season highlights produced in partnership with the Salt Lake Valley Chevrolet dealers. This item was produced in part by the University of Utah and does not require special permission from KUTV.
            • 1985
              • 11/23 - Utah vs. BYU
                • Tape 3
            • 1987
              • 09/12 - Utah vs. SDSU
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 4 - 3rd quarter
                • Tape 5 - 4th quarter
            • 1988
              • 11/19 - Utah vs. BYU
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
            • 1989
              • 11/18 - Utah vs. BYU
                • Tape 2
            • 1990
              • 8/23 - University of Utah football in Price
            • 1991
              • 11/02 - Utah vs. Hawaii
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
            • 1992
              • 10/03 - Utah vs. Colorado State
                • Tape 3
              • 10/31 - Utah vs. Air Force
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
              • 11/14 - Utah vs. Wyoming
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
              • 12/31 - Utah vs. Washington State
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
            • 1994
              • 11/05 - Utah vs. New Mexico
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
              • 11/12 - Utah vs. Air Force
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • Tape 3
                • Tape 4
              • 11/19 - Utah vs. BYU
                • 1st half - reverse angle footage (camera on sidelines, shots of crowd, players, some close-up shots of game)
              • 12/27 - Utah vs. Arizona
                • Tape 1
                • Tape 2
                • TV copy - tape 1
                • TV copy - tape 2
                • Postgame
            • 1995
              • 11/18 - Utah vs. BYU
                • TV copy - tape 1
                • TV copy - tape 2
                • Color (commentary) - tape 1
                • Color - tape 2

            Utah Football 1934

            About Subject Guides

            Audio-Visual subject guides outline the collections you can use to research different subjects. 

            Collections are listed by accession number with a description of its contents.  Some will have only brief descriptions while others will contain detailed lists or link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids. 

            Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.

            Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library