Audio-Visual Archive: Climbing

Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West

Contact Us

For more information about the AV archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Molly Rose Steed                        Moving Image and Sound Archivist

Jessica Breiman                                    Audio-Visual Assistant

Phone                                        (801) 585-6200

Rock Climbing and Mountaineering Collections

Oral histories make up the bulk of the Audio-Visual Archive's rock climbing and mountaineering collections. Climbers are listed alphabetically by last name, followed by the collection name and number.

A

Alder, Caine (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Anderegg, Jerry (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

B

Berryrieser, Dennis (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Brown, Fred discussed by Paul Petzoldt (A0151 Rick Reese collection)

Bown, Joel (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

C

Call, Christopher (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

D

DeLap, David F. (A0151 Rick Reese collection)

E

Ellison, Les (A0923 Les Ellison)

F

G

George, David (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Gibbs, Peter Edward (A0922 Peter Edward Gibbs)

Goodro, Harold Judd (A0646 Harold Judd Goodrow - video news story)

H

Huff, Brent (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

I

Irvine, Robert W. (A0925 Robert W. Irvine)

J

K

Kelner, Alexis (A0921 Alexis Kelner)

Knoles, Mindy (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

L

Love, Larry (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

M

Miller, Kim (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

N

O

Ortenburger, Leigh N. (A0151 Rick Reese collection)

P

Petzoldt, Paul on Fred Brown (A0151 Rick Reese collection)

Q

R

Reid, John (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

S

Smith, Dave (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Smoot, Brian (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Springmeyer, Bob (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Susong, Dunbar (A1097 Dunbar Susong - 8mm movies circa 1970)

T

Tingey, Ralph (A0916 Ralph Tingey)

Trube, Mike (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Turner, Jack (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

U

W

Wallin, Richard D. (A0926 Richard D. Wallin)

Webber, Tarris (A0060 Edward Cooley oral history project)

Wilson, Ted (A0924 Ted Wilson)

X

Y

Z

Harold Goodro (P0902)

Harold Goodro rock climbing at age 74

About Subject Guides

Audio-Visual subject guides outline the collections you can use to research different subjects. 

Collections are listed by accession number with a description of its contents.  Some will have only brief descriptions while others will contain detailed lists or link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids. 

Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library