Audio-Visual Archive: Oral Histories: Ethnic

Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West

Contact Us

For more information about the AV archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Molly Rose Steed                        Moving Image and Sound Archivist

Jessica Breiman                                    Audio-Visual Assistant

Phone                                        (801) 585-6200

Oral Histories by Ethnic Group

Transcripts for many of these recordings can be found in Manuscripts.

African American

A0038 African-American Oral Histories

A0079 Interviews with African American Utahns

A0326 Black American Oral History Project

Croatian

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1972-1975)

Greek

A0004 Greek Oral History

A0086 Interviews with Greek Utahns

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories(1969-1975)

Italian

A0305 Italian-American Oral Histories

Japanese

A0287 Japanese Oral History (1948-1988)

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1966-1997)

Jewish

A0224 Jewish History

A0324 Jewish Oral History

A0918 Jewish Family Services

Mexican

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1970-1971)

Native American:

Acoma

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Apache

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Athapascan

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Bannock

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Cree

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Crow

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Gros Ventre

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Havasupai

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Hopi

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Hualapai

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Hupa

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Indian Self-Rule

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1983-1984)

Laguna

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Navajo

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Nevada Intertribal Council

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Paiute

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0497 Paiute Oral Histories

Pueblo

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Shoshoni

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Sioux

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0637 Wisdom of the Elders - South Dakota Oral History (1999)

Taos

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Tewa

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Tlingit

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

Tohono O'odham

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Urban Indian

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Ute

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0062 Ute Native American Interviews

A0288 Ute Oral History (1985-1988)

A0874 Native American Oral Histories

Zuni

A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1986 - Zuni Land Claims)

Spanish

A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1968-1973)


Japanese American Home Movie (1939)

About Subject Guides

Audio-Visual subject guides outline the collections you can use to research different subjects. 

Collections are listed by accession number with a description of its contents.  Some will have only brief descriptions while others will contain detailed lists or link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids. 

Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library