Skip to main content

Scholarly Publishing and Copyright

Resources in scholarly publishing, metrics, and copyright for the health sciences community.

ORCID

Open Researcher and Contributer ID (ORCID)

  • Unique researcher indentifiers to resolve name ambiguity and ensure correct atribution
  • Open system for linking to current researcher ID systems developed by databases and publishers
  • Currently accepted by many databases, publishers, and metrics tools to quickly correct author information and attribution

Scopus AuthorID

Scopus Logo

Scopus Author Identifiers

  • Provides a unique ID # for authors in the Scopus citation database
  • Uses an algorithm to differentiate between two researchers with similar names
  • Because names can appears in different format (e.g. with a middle initial), the algorithm will list this as a new author
  • Scopus allows researchers to check their publication list and submit corrections
  • Having a corrected Scopus Author ID allows researchers to fully utilize the Scopus Author Metrics

The Scopus Author Evaluator will provide a variety of metrics about your publications. You can see an analysis of your publications per year, citations of your publications by year, your h index, the frequency at which you publish in different journals, and the subject areas of those journals.

Search for your author profile in the Scopus Author Search and click on the Author Evaluator link.

Google Scholar Profile

Google Scholar Profile

Google Scholar Profile

  • Keep up to date bibliography
  • Citation metrics for your publications
  • Public or private option
  • Requires a Google Account

Web of Science ResearchID

ResearcherID logo

Web of Science ResearcherID

  • Provides unique ID# for researchers
  • Integrates with the Web of Science citation database
  • Allows for corrections to profiles
  • Provides citation metrics for researchers

Impactstory

Impactstory

Impact Story takes your publications, slides, code, and web posts and analyzes them based on various metrics including citations, saves, bookmarks, tweets, views, and shares. Once you have created an ORCID or Google Scholar Profile, you can easily import your publications for analysis.