Utah Ski Archives: Ski Oral Histories

Offering a unique opportunity for historical and contemporary research into the ski industry.

About

The Everett Cooley Oral History collection is one of Special Collection's biggest oral history collections. The interviews are collected by the American West Center. A full guide to the collection is located here.


Transcripts of these interviews, as well as audio files, are available upon request. You can view transcripts or listen to the audio files in Special Collections, on Level 4 of Marriott Library.

For copies of transcripts, please call (801) 585-3076.

For copies of audio, please call (801) 585-3073 or email: mlib-mma@lists.utah.edu

Ski Oral Histories in the Everett Cooley Collection

***If the text is hyperlinked, select the link to read the interview transcript online. If the transcript is not yet available online, please contact Special Collections to obtain a copy. ***

519. Clark L. Wilson 8/5/86 (Manuscripts #212)

Clark Wilson (b. 1914) recalls his personal and family history, mining in turn-of-the-century Utah because of the involvement of his father, R. C. Wilson,    banking in Salt Lake, 1920s-1950s, and his involvement in mining in the Park City area, 1930s-1980s, Lead-Zinc lobbying activities in Washington D.    C., 1960s, and Park City skiing, 1960s-1980s. Interviewer: Floyd O'Neil, Gregory C. Thompson

993. K. Smith 5/3/89 (Manuscripts #282)

Smith (b. 1916) recalls the establishment of skiing at Brighton, World War II service in the 10th Mountain Division, skiing in Japan, and further development of skiing at Brighton. Interviewer: Gregory C. Thompson

1031. Earl & Gladys Miller 7/6/89 (Manuscripts #239)

Earl (b. 1917) and Gladys recall the history of organized skiing at Snow Basin, Weber County, Utah, 1930s-1950s, where they operated a ski school and concessions. They list a number of people with whom they were associated, such as the Engen and Eccles families. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1034. Zane A. Doyle 7/11/89 (Manuscripts #392)

Doyle (b. 1916) talked about his 45 years of owning, operating, and developing the Brighton Ski Area, a family business focusing initially on beginner and local skiers. He described working with the Forest Service to improve trails, his relationship with Kay Smith and others involved with skiing at Brighton, his association with the Riblet Company, and the evolution of ski lift technology and installation from the 1940s. Interviewers: Joe Arave, Gregory C. Thompson

1037. Ray & Ava Stewart 8/8/89 (Manuscripts #270)

The Stewarts and their daughter JoAnn recall their establishment and operation of Timphaven Ski Resort and the later establishment of Sundance Ski Resort by Robert Redford. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1064. Ardo Perri 7/20/89 (Manuscripts #211)

Perri (b. 1913) recalls his family history and his work in the ski industry in Utah, 1940s-1980s. He discusses the designing and installing of ski lifts at Brighton, Park City, and Solitude ski resorts. Much of the interview centers around his work at Brighton and with Zane Doyle. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1065. Otto Carpenter 8/7/89 (Manuscripts #263)

Carpenter (b. 1915) recalls early skiing in Summit County during the 1920s-1930s, his later establishment of the Snow Park ski area during the 1940s-1960s, which is the area of where Deer Valley was later established. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1067. Jan Peterson 8/11/89 (Manuscripts #232)

Peterson (b. 1939) recalls his parents' interest in skiing; his racing career; skiing at Alta, Brighton, and Park City; and his sporting goods business in Park City. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1069. Charles “Chic” Morton (#1) 8/21/89 (Manuscripts #229)

Morton (b. 1916) recalls the development of skiing and the ski industry, 1930s-1980s--first at Brighton and later at Alta; operating the Alta ski lifts; the skiing philosophy practiced at Alta; and many of the individuals involved at Alta including Alf Engen and Joe Quinney. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1071. Max Lundberg (#1) 8/30/89 (Manuscripts #233)

Lundberg (b. 1939) recalls skiing as a youngster; teaching programs for children; joining Alta as assistant ski school director; involvement in standardizing the techniques of ski instruction and certification; and membership nationally and internationally in ski instructors' associations. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1114. Paul & Betty Dinwoodey 7/19/89 (Manuscripts #383)

In a 1989 interview with Joe Arave, Paul Dinwoodey (b. 1909), prominent Salt Lake City furniture merchant, is joined by his wife Betty in recalling their experiences as Utah skiers in the late 1930s- early 1940s. They focus their recollections primarily on Brighton describing facilities, clothing, equipment, and personalities.

1115. Harold & Helen Goodro (#1) 8/21/89 (Manuscripts #281)

The Goodros (b. 1916; b. 1920) recall their early interests in skiing and later endeavors by Harold working with the Ski Patrol at Alta for 50 years, Utah Power and Light and the University of Utah ski program. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1121. Dean Roberts (#1) 10/25/89 (Manuscripts #374)

In two interviews, Roberts (b. 1931) recalls moving to Ogden, Utah in 1944, skiing at Snow Basin, working with Earl and Gladys Miller, early racing, teaching for K. Smith at Brighton and later teaching and becoming Ski School Director at Solitude, 1960s-1990s. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1123. Bob Chambers (#1) 11/6/89 (Manuscripts #389)

Chambers discusses his life-long involvement with skiing: his childhood in Jackson, Wyoming, the family move to Ogden, Utah in 1941 and skiing at Snow Basin; the ski team at Ogden High School; two years with the U.S. Army Tenth Mountain Troops during the Korean conflict; collegiate skiing competition and his ski scholarship to the University of Wyoming; working at The Ski Shop which Chambers eventually bought and expanded. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1125. Mel Dalebout 11/30/89 (Manuscripts #240)

Dalebout (b. 1930) discusses his skiing career and the development and marketing of his custom manufactured ski boot, the Daleboot. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1151. Jim Gaddis (#1) 12/6/89 (Manuscripts #255)

Gaddis (b. 1940) recalls growing up in Salt Lake City and his early interests in golf and skiing, as well as races he's won and awards he's received along with his promotion of ski racing for juniors. Interviewer: Joseph Arave

1153. Vicki Varela 1/5/90 (Manuscripts #265)

Varela, a staff member of Utah's Board of Regents recalls her involvement in defeating first the tax initiatives which would have impacted Utah's education and second to promote and win approval for the Utah Olympic bid in the late 1980s. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1155. Margo Walters McDonald (#1) 1/16/90 (Manuscripts #243)

McDonald (b. 1942) recalls her introduction to skiing, her racing career, people she knew in skiing, and the benefits she received as a result of her being an Olympic contender in 1964. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1159. Dick Movitz 1/30/90 (Manuscripts #274)

Movitz (b. 1925) recalls his extensive background with skiing leading to the 1948 Loympics. He discusses skiing for the Army during WWII and his involvement in the sport after his racing career. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1189. Phil Jones (#1) 1/30/90 (Manuscripts #375)

In a series of interviews, Jones, President and General Manager of Park City Ski Area, shares his observations on skiing as a recreational sport and as a business enterprise. Interviewers: Joe Arave, Gregory C. Thompson

1199. Lou Lorenz (#3) 3/21/90 (Manuscripts #254)

Lorenz (b. 1924) recalls his father's background and coming to Utah, as well as his own background in skiing and work in Utah's ski industry as an instructor and administrator and later incorporation of his business, the greater Salt Lake Ski School. Interviewer: Joseph Arave

1221. Mel Fletcher (#1) 10/18/89 (Manuscripts #409)

Mel H. Fletcher (b. 1918) recalls his childhood in Park City, Utah, working in California, serving in the military, and returning to Park City and skiing. Other topics include teaching and certification, community ski programs, local jumping tournaments, Bill Lash and the American ski technique, organizing the Park City ski patrol, winter carnivals and the snow train, Glenwood Cemetary Association, his ski patrol experiences, and the Ecker Hill memorial. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1226. Junior Bounous (#2) 11/15/89 (Manuscripts #278)

Bounous (b. 1925) recalls his early interest in skiing, teaching with Alf Engen and directing ski schools at Sugar Bowl in California, Timphaven/Sundance and Snowbird, as well as the development of the American Technique. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1232. Luella Seeholzer (#1) 4/16/90 (Manuscripts #253)

Seeholzer (b. 1905) recalls her early ski episodes with her husband and the beginnings of Beaver Mountain with the early ski tows and later chair lifts. She also discusses running a family business and hiring instructors and ski patrol. Interviewer: Joseph Arave

1233. Hans Brogle 4/23/90 (Manuscripts #386)

In 1990, Joe Arave interviewed Hans Brogle about his lifelong involvement with skiing--from his boyhood in Berchtesgaden, Germany; his immigration to the United States after WWII; his employment at Timberline Lodge in Oregon; to his move to Alta, Utah in 1953 where, he was employed until his retirement in 1986. Brogle describes Alta's ski trail planning and life development as well as day-to-day operation of the ski area.

1262. Suzy Harris Rytting 4/7/90 (Manuscripts #355)

Suzy Harris Rytting (b. 1930) talked about her experiences as a member of the United States Olympic Ski Teams in 1948 and 1952, difficulties of women as competitive athletes in the 1950s, her involvement with Utah skiing, and her views on Utah as a site for the Olympic games. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1263. Ray Nye 5/21/90 (Manuscripts #416)

Nye (b. 1920) recalls his early experiences with skiing as a child and talks about the growth of the ski industry in Utah. Other topics include Beaver Mountain, the National Ski Patrol, Squaw Valley, the Olympic Ski Patrol, ski injuries, the biathlon, Snow Basin Ski Patrol, personal enjoyment of skiing, and avalanches. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1264. Marvin Melville 6/5/90 (Manuscripts #323)

Marvin Melville (b. 1935) recalls his early racing days, and discusses the Winter Olympic Games of 1956, 1960, and 1964. He also talks about the Jim Gaddis controversy, ski training, the Alpine Training School, his NCAA positions, and speculates about his future involvement in the sport. Interviewer: Joseph Arave

1265. Alvin Cobabe (#1, #2) 7/8/90, 8/27/90, (Manuscripts #439)

Cobabe (b. 1917) details his career as a broadcast engineer and his training at the University of Utah school of medicine at the age of forty-one. The bulk of the interview is about the development of Powder Mountain ski resort. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1273. Pat Miller (#1) 10/3/90 (Manuscripts #423)

Miller (b. 1948) recalls his childhood in New England and talks about moving West to attend Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado. He also discusses the U. S. Ski Team, training, graduate work and coaching at the University of Utah, recruiting, and NCAA competitions. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1313. Bill Lash (#1) 10/26/90 (Manuscripts #264)

Lash (b. 1928) recalls his work with Claude Jones, skiing in Utah and Idaho, as well as his books on ski instruction and the establishment of the Intermountain Ski Instructors' Association and the Professional Ski Instructors Association. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1315. Adrien Segil (#1) 10/31/90 (Manuscripts #324)

Adrien Segil (b. 1911) recalls his childhood in Cripple Creek, Colorado, and his first experience skiing. He also talks about instructor certification, standardized instruction techniques, powder skiing, and reminisces about various people he has encountered. Interviewer: Joseph Arave

1316. Chuck Panter (#1) 11/19/90 (Manuscripts #396)

Chuck Panter (b. 1935) discusses his involvement with skiing and the establishment and development of Powder Mountain Ski Area. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1423. Richard Bird 4/4/91 (Manuscripts #382)

In a 1991 interview with Joe Arave, Richard Bird (b. 1929), Engineer for Idaho, Utah, and Nevada discusses his work inspecting all ski lift facilities at resorts on Forest Service land with an emphasis on Utah resorts (Snowbird and Solitude) and the evolution of ski lift technology.

1424. Dutch Deutchlander & Stephanie Hartlemeir 7/13/91, 7/14/91 (No Manuscripts #)

1425. Ralph Johnston 7/29/91, 8/5/91 (Manuscripts #347)

Johnston (b. 1908) recalls his Arizona boyhood, moving to Salt Lake City to attend high school, his days at the University of Utah, and the growth of skiing in the 1950s and 1960s. Topics covered include Snow Basin, an avalanche, the ski patrol, Wasatch Mountain Club, and the Air Force races. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1426. Jack Walker 5/14/91, 8/7/91 (Manuscripts #404)

Jack Walker (b. 1915) looks back on a lifetime of skiing. Topics include his first skis, the Utah Ski Club, Mt. Olympus Ski Club, the 10th Mountain Division, scaffolding jumps, Snow Basin, Ecker Hill, Centennial Ski Jump in 1947, Snowbird ski team, and Park City racing. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1427. Cal McPhie 8/19/91 (Manuscripts #387)

McPhie talks about the eighteen years he owned and operated Little Mountain Ski Area, where he introduced such innovations as lights for night skiing, using a snow packer, grooming slopes, and planting long crested wheat to protect the slopes during summertime. McPhie also discussed his plans for a multiple-use facility at Gargoza which he managed 1968-1972. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1451. Kent Hoopengarner (#1) 1/15/92, 1/24/92 (Manuscripts #358)

Kent Hoopengarner tells about his involvement with skiing: boyhood in Glenwood Springs and Aspen, Colorado; high school in Napa, California; working at Alta, Utah and Jackson, Wyoming; association with Ted Johnson and the development of Snowbird, Utah. Of particular interest are Hoopengarner's thoughts on the potential and limitations of Little Cottonwood Canyon as a destination ski area, and a mid-1970s trip he made to Teheran, Iran. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1566. Earl Miller (#1) 2/1/95 (Manuscripts #400)

In a series of interviews, Earl A. Miller (b. 1925) discusses his childhood, early skiing experiences, the U. S. Air Force, and the development of the Miller Ski Company. Other topics include Alta ski school, types of ski equipment, being a ski instructor in Japan, Cubco, patents and trademarks, ski injuries, the Robinson-Pitman Act, falling contests, snowboards, Alaska skiing, the Alf Engen ski museum, and various people and places he has known. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1592. Richard Nebeker (#1) 10/18/95 (Manuscripts #406)

Richard H. Nebeker (b. 1924) recalls his early skiing experiences and discusses skiing and the military. Other topics include basic training, Camp Hale, Harry Wagner, General George C. Hayes, the battles of Mt. Belvedere and Mt. dell Torrecia, Friedel Pfeifer, officer candidate school, VJ-day, skiing at the University of Utah, and an Albion Basin cabin. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1594. Bob Wheaton (#1) 11/6/95 (Manuscripts #411)

Robert Wheaton (b. 1952) discusses his midwestern childhood, moving to Utah with his wife to ski in the 1970s, and working at Park City and Deer Valley. The focus of the interview is on Wheaton's experiences as General Manager of Deer Valley. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1620. Alan Engen (#1) 5/22/96 (Manuscripts #430)

Alan Engen (b. 1940) talks about his father Alf, and uncles Sverre and Corey. He recalls how his mother and father were a team, talks about his father's employment with the Forest Service, and reminisces about his experiences in learning to ski. Other topics covered include avalanches, going to Norway as an exchange student, the University of Utah ski team, competing with the U. S. Ski Team, his career in business, the lives of his sons, Alta Ski Lift Company, the genesis of the Utah Ski Archives, and the Alf Engen Ski Museum. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1640. George (Judd) Preston (#1) 11/22/96 (Manuscripts #426)

Preston (b. 1932) recalls getting his first pair of skis for Christmas in 1938. He describes learning to ski, the ski patrol at Beaver Mountain, first aid training, an early cable tow, the Alf Engen Ski School, skiing safety, rescue equipment, and skiing with family and friends. Interviewer: Joe Arave

1805. Charles Butler (#1) 6/1/07 (Manuscripts #474)

Butler (b. 1950) recalls his childhood and the influence of his parents in the development of his love of the outdoors. Both his father and mother were instrumental in guiding Charles to skiing, hiking and sailing. He tells of following his then-girlfriend to California, where he attended school for one year in Santa Barbara. While working his way home he was invited by friends to stop by Salt Lake. These friends were students at the University of Utah. Butler loved the area and when the snow came he tried to find a place in Salt Lake that would rent cross-country skis to his friends. There was no on in the Valley. He went home to Minnesota and started painting houses with his brother Dwight. When winter came, he persuaded his brother to return to Salt Lake with him, and open a place that would rent cross-country skis. This business was called Wasatch Mountain Touring and was founded in 1972. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewers: Gregory C. Thompson and Erik Solberg

1806. Dwight Butler (#1) 6/7/07 (Manuscripts #454)

Butler (b. 1952) grew up in White Bear Lake, Minnesota. He and his brother, Charlie, moved to Salt Lake City, Utah, in 1972, where they founded Wasatch Touring, a retail business specializing in backcountry equipment. Butler recalls his childhood in Minnesota, learning to ski, and the development of cross country skiing. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg.

1807. Riley Cutler (#1) 6/8/07 (Manuscripts #477)

Cutler (b. 1952) begins by sharing his childhood in Preston, Idaho. He lived in a farming community, and he explains just what that meant to him and to his friends. They worked the farms, sometimes along side of immigrant farm workers. He had an active outdoor childhood, learning to ski among his many activities. The family moved to Panama City, Panama, and Riley went to the American High School in the Panama Canal Zone. He returned to Utah after graduating from high school and enrolled in the University of Utah. He recalls getting into cross country skiing, his friendship and working relationship with the Butler brothers of Wasatch Touring Company. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg

1815. Alexis Kelner (#1) 6/25/07 (Manuscripts #491)

Alexis Kelner (b. 1938) was born in Rīga, Latvia. His family lived in a German Displaced Persons Camp after World War II. The family came to the United States in 1950, sponsored by the Unitarian Church in Salt Lake City.. He joined the Civil Air Patrol cadet program and attended the University of Utah. Kelner discusses skiing and mountaineering in the Wasatch Mountains, working at Saltair, being a research assistant for Cal Giddings at the University of Utah, and the Wasatch Mountain Club. He recalls fellow outdoorsmen such as Bruce Christenson, Gary Larson, Blaine Erickson, John McDuff, Dick Bell, Charles Leslie, and Harold Goodro. Also discussed are Larry Swanson, Dave Hanscom, Tom Stevenson, Karl Dunn, Dick Bass, and Tom Spencer. Kelner organized many touring trips in the Wasatch Range, and in recent years has been an opponent of wilderness development. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg

#457 Kelner

1819. John Reid (#1) 7/9/07 (Manuscripts #461)

John Reid (b. 1939) has been an avid Wasatch Front mountaineer and skier for many decades. He attended Reed College, later joined the army, and attended the University of Utah on the GI Bill. Some of his climbing partners were George Lowe, Bob Bryan, Dan Grandusky (Clean Dad), and Ron Perla, with whom he climbed Mt. Whitney. Reid talks about tthe Ute Alpine Club, the progression of equipment, and the increasing popularity of rock climbing. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg

1823. Caine Alder (#1) 7/17/07 (Manuscripts #466)

Caine Alder was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, on 14 December 1933. He grew up in the undeveloped foothills and enjoyed exploring caves, climbing mountains, skiing, and running rivers. He joined the Wasatch Mountain Club at a young age, was mentored by Jim Shane, and did many first ascents. Topics discussed include his exploration and measuring of Neff’s Cave, search and rescue operations, his love of mountaineering and friendship with Paul Petzoldt, he connection between the Ute Alpine Club and spelunking, environmentalism, skiing, and the history of hiking Timpanogos. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg

1825. Jerry Anderegg (#1) 9/18/07 (Manuscripts #467)

erry Anderegg attended Highland, East, and Olympus High Schools in Salt Lake City, where he participated in ski racing and climbing. His friends included Rick Reese, Dave Wood and Dick Wallin. After his LDS mission to Germany, he was no longer interested in climbing, but turned to skiing and family. He discusses climbing in the Wasatch range, the evolution in gear, the Alpenbock Club, early skiing at Ecker’s Hill, and the local attitude toward mountaineering. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: Erik Solberg

1826. David Hanscom (#1) 9/19/07 (Manuscripts #483)

Hanscom (b. 1941) grew up in Rumford, Maine. His father introduced him to skiing at an early age and he skied for his high school ski team. He skied the Nordic Combined events, which were comprised of combined scores from cross country skiing and ski jumping. He talks about older equipment, such as pine-tar cross country skis, and skis that had no camber and just dragged. He went to Middlebury College prior to coming to Utah in 1970. Hanscom talks about skiing with the Wasatch Mountain Club, avalanches, and his relationship with Alexis Kelner, which resulted in the publication of a ski touring guide entitled "Wasatch Tours." Other topics include avalanche awareness and safety, preparation for the 1985 Salt Lake City Olympic bid, and bringing activities like the World Cup Skiing and World Cup Cross Country to Utah. David speaks about the political nature of the committees, and the people involved. He describes the ‘Little Dell’ site discussions and the eventual rejection as the proposed site for the Winter Games cross country and biathlon events. David was also concerned about the ‘legacy’ of the choice and the selection of a permanent site was at Wasatch Mountain State Park, which was called Soldier Hollow. The interview concludes with a review of the technological improvement of ski gear from wood skis with leather boots and toe clip bindings, to engineered metal skis and plastic boots with specialized bindings for telemark skiing. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewed by David Hanscom

1829. Joel Bown (#1) 9/4/07 (Manuscripts #541)

Bown (b.1946) talks about his ski mountaineering experiences that began with the Ute Alpine Club. Equipment was bought from the Deseret Industries and Vibram added to the soles of the old boots. Few people ski toured in the sixties, unlike today. Mountaineering trips included Cardiff Pass, Deseret Peak, Uintas, King's Peak, Colorado Rockies, the Tetons, and eventually south to Mazatlan or Baja. He talks about the evolution of equipment and the sport, environmental issues, the dangers of mountaineering, and what the Wasatch has to offer. He mentions canoe trips in the Tetons and British Columbia, and talks about the friendships developed because of the sport. Utah Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewed by Erik Solberg.

1851. Dave Bastian (#1) 1/18/08 (Manuscripts #469)

Bastian (b. 1974) was born in Provo, Utah, but the family moved California and eventually settled in San Juan Batista, just east of Monterey. He recalls his childhood and speaks of the Teatro Campesino, a theater for farm workers. He describes his affinity for western novels; Louis L’Amour and and Zane Grey. After a series of menial jobs which supported his life as a ski bum at Solitude and Snowbird Ski Resorts, he was hired at the Save Our Canyons Project and later by the Utah Rivers Counsel. He discusses the environmental movement in Utah and the western U.S. Utah Environmentalist Project. Interviewer: Rob DeBirk

Bruce Tremper (Manuscripts #564)

Tremper (b. 1953) grew up in a large Catholic outdoorsy family in Missoula, Montana.His father was a working class businessman and his mother was an academic. Bruce was a ski racer for the University of Montana, was on the Junior National Ski Team for three years and the US Ski Team Talent Squad until he decided that he could not continue for financial reasons. In college he worked trail maintenance every summer for Glacier National Park. He got his degree in Geology and joined the Ski Patrol at Bridger Bowl, where he first started working with avalanches. He later studied with John Montagne, who he credits as a huge life influence. Tremper started the Utah Avalanche Center and works on how to give people the avalanche information they need in a simple and straightforward way. He thinks that the human influence in avalanches needs to be acknowledged and that having a system is the only way to stay safe.Each avalanche is the same story, different person. He wrote a book called Staying Alive in Avalanche Terrain. Outdoor Recreation Oral History Project. Interviewer: John Worsencroft

Bob and Jonathan Springmeyer (Manuscripts #596)

Robert (b. 1943) was born in Provo and raised in the Salt Lake area. He took up skiing when he was twelve or thirteen. He joined his neighborhood buddies and younger brother and skied on Saturday mornings. Skiing was just a part of his love for the outdoors, which came to include climbing, hiking, fishing and canoeing. During his life he has witnessed great changes in how people can access the natural areas of the United States. The increase in the popularity of outdoor activities has widened choices, but has also seen the rise of regulations and crowds. Coming from a time where the opportunities to turn ones avocation into a vocation were very limited and difficult he lives by a simple rule: keep those parts of his life separate. Jonathan (b. 1970) is the son of Robert Springmeyer and shares his love for the outdoors. He started skiing at three years old, back when there was no ski equipment made for young children. He broke his leg during his second ski season, at the age of four, at Chickadee Shoots. Reminded of the trips he took with his father as a kid, he recalls innocently breaking park regulations during a canoeing and fishing trip to Yellowstone Park. He is trying to teach his kids to respect the outdoors, especially since they live in a place where the outdoors can literally be in your backyard. Like his father, he believes that the best way to destroy an avocation is to make it a vocation. Outdoor Recreation Project. Interviewer: John Worsencroft

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library