New to the U?: Defining What Is Scholarly

Whether you are a first year or a graduate student, this guides serves as an introduction to library services and research strategies.

Start Here!

Access to E-Books & Articles from Off-Campus

Do you want to research from home and get online access to library resources? Check this out!

Research & Writing Assistance

Welcome to the U


Below are some tips on library services to get you started at the U.

Librarian

Need help? Contact us

chat loading...

Find Books and More

Find Multimedia

DVDs, CDs, and More

Multimedia resources owned by the Marriott Library are listed in the Library Catalog. To find these resources use the "Advanced Keyword" search mode and use the "Format" box under the heading "Limits" to limit your search appropriately.

For example: To find a DVD on the subject of child development, in the "Advanced Keyword" search mode, enter "child development," as a general keyword search or a subject keyword search, limiting your search to Video, DVD, Film.

If you are looking for a specific DVD, in the "Advanced Keyword" search mode, enter the title of the item as a title keyword search, limiting your search to Video, DVD, Film.

E-Books

The following are collections of e-books accessible through Usearch, the UU Libraries Catalog. To access all e-books it is recommended that you use Usearch. The collections listed below will get you started, but they are not comprehensive.

Finding Articles

Using AND, OR, NOT

To be more precise in your searching, use AND, OR, NOT in your searches.

More Search Tips

E-journals

Subscription Databases to Get You Started

Did you know that relevant research and academic articles are available on the deep web? Did you know that Google, Bing, and other web search engines cannot search these sites?

"The deep Web is the part of the Internet that is inaccessible to conventional search engine s, and consequently, to most users. According to researcher Marcus P. Zillman of DeepWebResearch.info, as of January 2006, the deep Web contained somewhere in the vicinity of 900 billion pages of information. In contrast, Google, the largest search engine, had indexed just 25 billion pages.

Deep Web content includes information in private databases that are accessible over the Internet but not intended to be crawled by search engines. For example, some universities, government agencies and other organizations maintain databases of information that were not created for general public access. Other sites may restrict database access to members or subscribers." Taken from Whatis.com on August 9, 2011.

Don't stop here. More subject-specific article databases are available. These will get you started, but check with the subject guide in your area or make an appointment with your subject librarian.

Defining What Is Scholarly

Characteristics of Scholarly Resources

 WHAT IS A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

A scholarly journal contains articles and letters written by scholars to report results of research and other scholarly activities. For most academic papers, scholarly articles are excellent and preferred sources for supporting your arguments.

WHAT ARE SOME CHARACTERISTICS OF A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

  • Scholarly journals are usually published or sponsored by a professional society or association.
  • There may be a list of reviewers on the first few pages. This type of journal is known as a "juried", "refereed", or "peer reviewed" journal. In such journals, all articles are reviewed by experts before publication so the journals tend to be considered among the best in their fields.
Some Differences between Scholarly and Popular publications:
 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL

POPULAR MAGAZINE

Audience

Professionals, Professors, Graduate Students

Lay People, folks without a college degree in the subject

Indexing

Indexed in Wilson Indexes, or in subject-specific indexes like Biological Abstracts, Historical Abstracts, Art Index, etc. May be included in ProQuest/Periodical Abstracts.

Indexed in general-purpose indexes like Readers' Guide or ProQuest/Periodical Abstracts.

Language

Field-specific language/jargon, requires reader to be in touch with other research in the field.

Written in everyday language accessible to any generally knowledgeable reader.

WHAT ARE THE CHARACTERISTICS OF AN ARTICLE IN A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

Some Differences between the articles in Scholarly and Popular publications:
 

SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

POPULAR ARTICLES

Author

Author's credentials in the field are established (e.g., institutional affiliation, maybe degrees, etc.)

Authors may not have special qualifications for writing article; credentials are not given

Bibliography

Yes.

Probably not.

Research

Usually based on original research or new applications of others' research.

The author is usually a reporter; he or she will have done research for the article, but not "original" research the actual lab work, math, or theoretical analysis.

 

Librarian

MLA Style

Available in the Knowledge Commons

MLA Style

 

Although the complete MLA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the MLA style.  Below are several of the best. 

Librarian

APA Style

Available in the Knowledge Commons

Research Help

Ask a Librarian

Ask the Library

  • phone icon 801-581-6273
  • chat icon Live Chat -    
  • email icon Email
  • eye iconIn-Person
  • research guides icon Research Consultation

Librarian

Searching using EndNote Basic

Online Searching from EndNote Basic

You can search some free databases, such as PubMed, directly through EndNote Basic using the Online Search option. Although this saves you a few keystrokes, you also don't have access to the more advanced search tools the databases offer. We recommend using Online Search only for importing known references.

To search a database,

  • On the Collect tab, select Online Search.
  • Select the database you want to search from the drop-down menu
  • Click the Connect button.

  • Enter your search terms, using the dropdown menus to select appropriate fields & click Search.

To import the results:

  • Select results
  • Add to a group (including Unfiled)

Librarian

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library