During the fall Semester, we used in our assignments:
- Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world including citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- WorldCat, the largest online library in the world!
- Google Scholar (Open Web): GS provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Again, it can be a great starting point, BUT the information is not comprehensive.
Also suggested databases for your exploration were:
- EBSCOhost web databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch (alternative news)
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (academic research)
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide (scholarly)
- Genderwatch (scholarly)
- Left Index (alternative perspectives)
- Women Studies International (scholarly)
Suggestions for finding images:
- AP Images (Article Databases at the Marriott Library)
- American Memory (Open Web)
- PicSearch (Open Web)
- Bing (Open Web)
- Google Images (Open Web)
- Flickr Creative Commons (Open Web)