Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

LEAP Fall 2011, Prof. Ownby: Visit 4

LEAP is a year-long learning community for entering University students. It consists of two three-credit-hour courses – one fall semester, one spring semester – taken with the same professor and classmates, allowing students to build community.

CRAAP Test

Characteristics of Scholarly Resources

 WHAT IS A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

A scholarly journal contains articles and letters written by scholars to report results of research and other scholarly activities. For most academic papers, scholarly articles are excellent and preferred sources for supporting your arguments.

WHAT ARE SOME CHARACTERISTICS OF A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

  • Scholarly journals are usually published or sponsored by a professional society or association.
  • There may be a list of reviewers on the first few pages. This type of journal is known as a "juried", "refereed", or "peer reviewed" journal. In such journals, all articles are reviewed by experts before publication so the journals tend to be considered among the best in their fields.
Some Differences between Scholarly and Popular publications:
 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL

POPULAR MAGAZINE

Audience

Professionals, Professors, Graduate Students

Lay People, folks without a college degree in the subject

Indexing

Indexed in Wilson Indexes, or in subject-specific indexes like Biological Abstracts, Historical Abstracts, Art Index, etc. May be included in ProQuest/Periodical Abstracts.

Indexed in general-purpose indexes like Readers' Guide or ProQuest/Periodical Abstracts.

Language

Field-specific language/jargon, requires reader to be in touch with other research in the field.

Written in everyday language accessible to any generally knowledgeable reader.

WHAT ARE THE CHARACTERISTICS OF AN ARTICLE IN A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?

Some Differences between the articles in Scholarly and Popular publications:
 

SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

POPULAR ARTICLES

Author

Author's credentials in the field are established (e.g., institutional affiliation, maybe degrees, etc.)

Authors may not have special qualifications for writing article; credentials are not given

Bibliography

Yes.

Probably not.

Research

Usually based on original research or new applications of others' research.

The author is usually a reporter; he or she will have done research for the article, but not "original" research the actual lab work, math, or theoretical analysis.

Exploring Scholarly Databases

 The fourth library visit introduces you to scholarly subscription resources available to you as a student at the U.

Library Subscription Databases via Proquest

  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • PAIS International
  • EBSCOhost databases

Open Web Source: Google Scholar

New Concepts to Master

    Exploring alternative perspectives  is essential in the research process. Without exploring other opinions than yours, you have not completely covered the research in the area and will be faulted in your final grade. Exploring alternative perspectives is always significant but particularly in debates. Below are some suggestions for examining alternative perspectives:

    • Ethnic NewsWatch
    • CIAO: Columbia  International Affairs Online
    • Family and Society Studies Worldwide (5 simultaneous users)
    • Genderwatch
    • Left Index
    • Women Studies International

    What exactly does the term scholarly or academic mean when you are looking for journal articles? Check this guide out and test yourself! When you are researching you will need to be able to identify what is scholarly in order to meet requirements of the assignment.

    Google Scholar Search Box

    You are able to search Google Scholar from this box. It is also available on the Article Databases tab (Marriott Library's home page) or on the Open Web. Be sure to set your Google Scholar Preferences so that you can directly link to full-text resources available at the Marriott Library.

    1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com/
    2. Clink on the Scholar Preferences link in the upper right-hand corner
    3. In the Library Links section, type Utah in the search box
    4. Click Find Library
    5. Put a check mark in the boxes that read:
      1. Open WorldCat - Library Search
    6. Click Save Preferences to save the settings
    Library Links
     (what's this?)
     
     
      e.g., Harvard

    Show library access links for (choose up to three libraries):


    Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library