Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

LEAP Fall 2011, Prof. Ownby: Using Images

LEAP is a year-long learning community for entering University students. It consists of two three-credit-hour courses – one fall semester, one spring semester – taken with the same professor and classmates, allowing students to build community.

Citing Images

It's important to check style guides to be sure you're citing images properly.

Here are some excellent guides that explain the finer subtleties:

Citing using NoodleTools

Fair Use Checklist

The following Checklist for Fair Use is based on a document created by Professor Kenneth Crews and the staff of the Copyright Management Center at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. Based on the four factors of fair use—purpose, nature, amount and effect—the checklist was created to help educators, librarians and others evaluate content uses to determine if fair use applies.

Using Flickr

Flickr is a public photo-sharing site with billions of images. It is a rich resource to find images for your research (news events, places, people...). Flickr users can opt to share their images with others under creative commons licenses (alternative to copyright).

Article Databases with Images

Many text-based subscription library databases also include rich image resources. This guide will help you find some of those "hidden" images and introduce other resources for finding archival images.

Finding Images Library Databases using Library subscription databases:

AP Images: The Associated Press has won more Pulitzer Prizes for photography than any other news agency in the world, and is the most credible source for non-biased reporting. Searching for images is quite easy, and information is provided as to the photographer, location, event, creation date, subject descriptor, and keywords, very helpful for creating citations.

 JSTOR/ArtStor:  In the search box, type in any thing for which you want illustrations that appear in journal articles. On the Search Results page, click the link, show only with images.  Graphs and charts will also be retrieved. Alternatively, use Advanced Search to limit your search to particular JSTOR subject collections, e.g., you might want illustrations of telephones from the History of Science and Technology collection or stone tools from the Anthropology and Archaeology collections.

Academic Search Premier (ASP): ASP includes Image Quick View that limits your search to articles with images including tables and graphs. To view an image, click on the thumbnail from the result list or the article citation view.

Finding Data using Library Databases: 

JSTOR/ArtStor (subscription only) See above explanation.

American Factfinder (available on the open web): This is an online, user-friendly tool for searching U.S. Census datasets including: Decennial Census; American Community Survey; Puerto Rico Community Survey; Annual population estimates; Economic Census. Charts, graphics, and tables are included.

Proquest Databases:  Once you do a search, there is a limit to Figures on the search results page.


These databases are accessed via the Article Databases tab on the Marriott Library's homepage.

Image Search Engines

Here are some suggestions for searching images on the open web!

  • Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches web content that it can find -- many images are actually hidden in databases or galleries (whether freely available or in Cornell's subscription databases). The quality of images - size, resolution, description, usage rights - also varies considerably on the open web. Use Google, but don't rely on it for all image searches. TIP: Use advanced search and limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site:gov) and usage rights.  
  • CreativeCommons.org The Creative Commons is a not-for-profit organization devoted to expanding the range of creative work available for others to legally build upon and share.

For information on additional resources search Librarians Guide to the Internet for images,

Digital Image Collections

Librarian

Rebekah Cummings's picture
Rebekah Cummings
Contact:
J Willard Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East
Faculty Center, 1705Y
801-581-7701

Creative Commons

Creative Commons "provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry. You can use CC to change your copyright terms from "All Rights Reserved" to "Some Rights Reserved." To search: Creative Commons Search

U.S. Government Images

Tip! Images produced by the government are copyright-free. You can use them without seeking permission.

Search Google Images and limit to .gov

  • Search example:

dorothea lange site:.gov

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library