Art History: Contemporary Chinese Art

A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Art History.

Chinese Art

Saatchi Gallery [Zhang Dali, Chinese Offspring, 2003 / Bill McIntyre / Photo available at Flickr

Art Radar Asia

Loading ...

Asia Center at the UofU

The Asia Center, a Title VI National Resource Center for Asian and Pacific Studies, serves as a hub for Asia-related activities at the University of Utah involving teaching, research and community outreach. Under the auspices of the Intermountain Consortium for Asian and Pacific Studies (IMCAPS), it collaborates with the Brigham Young University Asian Studies Program to promote education and research on Asia.

215 South Central Campus Dr. Rm 210 / 801.581.6101

Asia Art Archive

The Asia Art Archive collects, preserves and makes information on contemporary Asian art easily accessible in order to facilitate understanding, research and writing in the field. You can search their collection catalog, explore education and programming opportunities, connect to news and events, and more.

Several of the Archive's Online Projects include:

Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990

The 1980s was a seminal period in China’s recent art history. AAA has collected hundreds of texts published during the 1980s, completed 75 video-taped interviews, produced a documentary film, and digitized the personal archives of renowned artists and curators. With a total of over 70,000 digital documents and publications, AAA now maintains the world’s largest and most systematically organized archive of documentary material on the period. This scholarly resource is freely accessible and open to the public from AAA’s physical premises and from this purposely built website.

Pool of Possibilities: Mapping Currents of the 3rd Guangzhou Triennial

An online database with artists from across the world – who in their deeply committed and cutting-edge practice have inspired us to re-visit and re-think the post-colonial theoretical interface from which we today understand and appreciate contemporary art.Included in the Pool of Possibilities are artists working with a variety of mediums and conceptual approaches. Each artist is represented with a profile, including images, artist statement and biography or CV. Visitors are invited to search for artists by name, geography and through a range of conceptual keywords that has been developed in close collaboration with the artists.

Shifting Sites: Cultural Desire and the Museum

There is no shortage of museums in Asia. But, for the most part, the idea of what a museum is and what it is for is a recent construct. The museum is a space still undergoing considerable negotiation — especially with regards to the current state of art production, which ranges from the exhibition of contemporary art at international biennales, to the trade in all manner of art objects. On 17 May 2008, AAA and The Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, invited key individuals and institutions to address relevant issues and share with us their insights and experiences at the conference Shifting Sites: Cultural Desire and the Museum. Content from the conference, including keynote speeches, presentations, reports, and group discussions can be found at this site.

All You Want to Know about International Art Biennials

An online project that aims to chart and map the modes, development and diversities of international biennials and triennials world-wide, with the intention of highlighting those in which Asian artists have participated since the 1990s. Through the display of facts, statistics and documentation resources, this project intends to paint a comprehensive picture of the biennial phenomenon, and serve as a research tool.

Archiving the Contemporary: Documenting Asian Art Today, Yesterday and Tomorrow

Archiving the Contemporary: Documenting Asian Art Today, Yesterday and Tomorrow brought together over 40 art professionals from around the world to look at the challenges of archiving, documentation, preservation, knowledge management and information sharing on contemporary art from Asia. This web proceeding includes the keynote speeches, presentations, reports as well as group discussions from the workshop. A new forum section is added as a platform to further discuss issues and challenges about art archiving and documentation in general and as it relates to contemporary Asian Art.

Search Terms

Art, Chinese - Exhibitions

Art, Chinese – 20th century

Art, Chinese – 20th century - Exhibitions

Art, Chinese – 20th century – Foreign influences – Exhibitions

Art, Chinese – 21st century – Exhibitions

Arts, Chinese

Arts, Chinese – 19th century

Arts, Chinese – 20th century

Art criticism – China

Art criticism – China – History – 20th century

Arts and society - China

Aesthetics, Chinese – 20th century

Aesthetics, Modern – 20th century

Avant-garde (Aesthetics) – China – Exhibitions

Modernism (Aesthetics) - China

Conceptual art - China

Conceptual art – China – Exhibitions

East and West - Exhibitions

Installations (Art) – China – Exhibitions

Architecture, Chinese – 20th century – Exhibitions

Architecture, Chinese – 21st century – Exhibitions

Social realism in art – China

Body art

Body, human - Social aspects

Body image - Social aspects

Body image in art

Performance art

Femininity in art

Femaie nude in art

Masculinity in art

Male nude in art

Human figure in art

China – History – Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976 – Art and the revolution – Exhibitions

China – Civilization – 20th century

China – Politics and government – 1976-2002

Intellectuals – China

Identity (Psychology) - China


Here are a few ways to further describe a SUBJECT:


… history and criticism

   e.g., Art, Chinese - history and criticism

   e.g., Zhan, Wang, 1962- - history and criticism

… exhibitions

… criticism and theory

… influence (Literary, artistic, etc.)

Periodical Literature


ARTstor is a digital library of more than 1.25 million images representing the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences together with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline using ARTstor's free Offline Image Viewer (OIV).

To use ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a personal account within ARTstor on when working at a computer on campus.

Select Open Web Resources

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library