Finding Test Instruments (Health, Education, & Psychology): Step 1

This guide is for students, staff, and faculty looking for test instruments including classes such as HEDU 4300, ESS 4900, etc.

Search Google

Search Google Scholar

Internet Sites for Test Instruments

Quick Start: Search Google

Using the Google or Google Scholar search boxes to the left of this page, enter the title of the instrument.

  • Be sure that you have the correct title for the instrument (i.e. Dichotic Listening Test rather than Dichotomous Listening Test).
  • You may find a site that will define the test and give information about purchasing copies of the test, or, with great good luck, will find the test itself freely available online.
  • The search below locates a site that offers the test for sale.
Google search for Dichotic Listening Test
https://www.uvic.ca/socialsciences/psychology/research/clinic/dichotic.php

Test Sales

Department of Psychology

University of Victoria

PDF order form and pricing information

Web Sites for Test Instruments

EDUCATION

ETS Test Link

Provides information on mostly unpublished instruments including over 20,000 tests and other measurements from U.S. publishers and individual test authors from the early 1900s to the present; tests have not been subjected to the intensive investigation usually associated with commercially published tests.

HEALTH

Health Guide A-Z: Medical Tests through WebMD

Provides information about medical tests designed for health consumers and patients. Normal lab values are presented along with information about how to prepare for tests and results interpretation.


HRSS (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
A searchable directory of instruments and data sets used in health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health.

 

Assessments and Best Practices in Care of Older Adults (Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, HIGN at New York University's College of Nursing, and the American Journal of Nursing)
Includes videos and written information about various scales and measurements used with older adults.

Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality of life Instruments Database (ProQolid)


Medical Outcomes Trust


METRIC Archive

  
RAND Health

 

PSYCHOLOGY & OTHER SOCIAL SCIENCES

APA - Testing and Assessment
Guidance from the American Psychological Association in using available resources to find psychological tests.

PsychCentral® What is Psychological Assessment?

Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Instruments Database

TIP: Try searching Google or another search engine if you are unable to locate instrument information in the resources listed below. Sometimes you may need to contact the author(s) directly.

Librarian Contact Info

Alfred Mowdood's picture
Alfred Mowdood
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
(801) 585-7125

Pronouns: he, him, his
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library