Utah Architecture: Utah Newspapers

This guide will direct you to resources about Utah architects and architecture.

Why use newspapers?

Why use newspapers when researching local architecture?

Searching local newspapers can give you information about when a structure was built, who designed it, and what was the original purpose of the building. You can use newspapers as a research tool for both HISTORIC and NEW structures.

Some related articles

Provo's Mormon Temple Makes List of 'Ugliest Churches' The Salt Lake Tribune, July 23, 2013

Lehi Roller Mills Struggling to Stay off Auction Block, The Salt Lake Tribune, October 25, 2012

Top Architects Raise Anticipation for Utah Performing Arts Center The Salt Lake Tribune, October 2, 2012

Discovering the Cathedral of the Madeleine's History, The Salt Lake Tribune, August 23, 2012

Need More Information?

This research guide is hands-down the best resource for finding newspapers in Marriott Library.

News Resources for Contemporary Buildings

The two primary regional newspapers are the Salt Lake Tribune and the Deseret News.

Use the Lexis Nexis Academic Database to find articles related to recently built structures. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in via the 'Off-Campus Access' button on the library homepage. 


Salt Lake Tribune: January 1, 1994 through current (updated within one day of publication) full-text.

Deseret News: January 1996 through current (updated within one day of publication) full-text.

How to Search:

Select the 'Sources' tab on the left side of the Lexis Nexis homepage.

  • Under '2. Browse Sources,' select 'United States' (the database will then prompt you to select a region or state; select 'Utah')
  • Under '3.' select the link for 'News.' Then check the box labeled 'Utah News Sources.'
  • Click 'OK - Continue' on the right side of the page, and enter your search terms (e.g Salt Palace, Saltair, etc.)

News Resources for Historic Buildings

The Deseret News Historic Archive is available for free online. Coverage extends from their first issue on June 15, 1850 through December 30, 1988.

Historic Salt Lake Tribune editions are available as part of the microfilm collection and can be ordered from the ARC (you will need to log in to the library website to order or see the librarian at the Knowledge Commons). Find available editions.

Never used the microfilm machines before? No problem! Ask at the Computer and Media Services window or at the Knowledge Commons desk for assistance.

Utah Digital Newspapers

Utah Digital Newspapers is a Marriott Library program that systematically digitizes historic newspapers from all over Utah. You can search the whole collection or you can select a specific newspaper (e.g. Carbon County News) to search. Digitized newspapers are continually being added; here is a current list of available newspapers.

Search All Newspapers


Exact Phrase
What's This?


Search/Browse A Single Newspaper:


Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library