Finding and Exploring Your Topic: Subject-Specific
Brainstorming

Sciences

Discover cover imageDiscover is a monthly magazine that covers health and medicine, mind and brain, technology, space, human origins, living world, environment, and physics and math.

Alternative link: http://discovermagazine.com.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/

 

 NatureNature is a weekly international journal covering all scientific disciplines.

Alternative Link: http://www.nature.com.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/nature/archive/index.html

 

New Scientist cover image

New Scientist is a weekly magazine covering space, technology, environment, health, life, physics and math, and science in society.

Alternative link: https://www-newscientist-com.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/issues/current

 

Science is a weekly magazine that contains news and articles on a wide variety of science-related topics, including the life sciences, physical sciences, economics, education, and other topics.

Alternative Link up to 1997 - 2004

 

Scientific AmericanScientific American is a monthly magazine that covers a wide variety of science-related topics, including Energy & Sustainability, Evolution, Health, Mind & Brain, Space, and Technology.

Alternative Link: http://www.nature.com.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/scientificamerican/archive/index.html

 

Arts & Humanities

American Heritage cover imageAmerican Heritage is a quarterly magazine that focuses on U.S. history.

  

 

 

 

 

ARTnews cover imageARTnews is a monthly magazine that covers art, issues, trends, and events in the international art world.

    

    

 

Dance cover imageDance is a monthly magazine that provides news and information about the world of dance.

   

     

 

 

History TodayHistory Today is a monthly magazine that contains essays on all periods, regions, and themes of history.

 

 

 

 

Smithsonian cover imageSmithsonian is a monthly magazine that covers history, archeology, arts, culture, science, nature, and travel.

 

 

 

Subject-Specific Brainstorming

If you have a particular academic field or discipline in mind while brainstorming your topic, you might want to check out some of the current news for that field.  Associations, organizations, and publications can be a good place to look for that information. 

See below for links to association and organization websites and current periodicals for a variety of fields.  In addition, many of the magazines and journals on this page (as well as a number of others) can all be found in the Current Periodicals on Level 2.

Social Sciences

National Geographic cover imageNational Geographic is a monthly magazine that covers geography, culture, history, science, and photography.

  

 

         

Psychology Today cover imagePsychology Today is a bimonthly magazine that covers a wide variety of psychology-related topics, including human behavior and mental health.

 

  

Sports Illustrated cover image

Sports Illustrated  is a weekly magazine that covers sports and sports-related topics. 

 

 

 

Business

Forbes cover imageForbes is a biweekly magazine covering business, investing, technology, leadership, and lifestyle issues.

 

 

 

Bloomberg Businessweek cover imageBusiness Week Online is a weekly magazine covering finance, technology, innovation, management, and small business issues.

  



 

Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal is a daily newspaper focusing on business and economic news.

 

 

 

Current Events and Politics

Website: NewsBank - links to a variety of news links across a variety of topic

 

The Nation cover imageThe Nation is a weekly magazine that covers politics, arts and entertainment, economics, the environment, activism, and society a liberal perspective.

 

 

 

National Review cover imageNational Review is a biweekly news magazine covering American politics, news and culture from a conservative perspective.

 

 

 

New Republic cover imageNew Republic publishes 20 issues/year and covers politics, the arts, the economy, energy and the environment, and film from a liberal perspective.

 

 

Subject Guide

Donna Ziegenfuss's picture
Donna Ziegenfuss
Contact:
Marriott Library

1st Floor Library
Room 1726E

Office Hours: By Appointment
801-585-0542
Website Skype Contact: dziegenfuss
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library