Advanced Research in the Social Sciences: Style/Citation Manuals

Explore the comprehensive database in Electronic Dissertations & Theses. Review abstracts and citations in the Scopus and Web of Science databases. Peruse and discover titles from WorldCat database. Bring your topics and we will seek and find!

Style/Citation Manuals

Style Manuals

Print resources are available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2) of the Marriott Library

Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style.  The most popular style guides are APA, Chicago, and MLA style.  Other style guides include:

A Handbook for Thesis and Dissertations published by the Graduate School of the University of Utah. See the Graduate School's Thesis Office website for more information.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate L. Turabian (Print) LB2369 .T8 2007

ACM Journals LaTeX Style GuideACS Style Guide (Print) QD 8.5 A25 2006

AIP Style Manual for Authors by the American Institute of Physics 
AMA Manual of Style Marriott Library LVL 2: Ready Reference Knowledge Commons R119 .A533 2007

The Associated Press Stylebook 2008 (Print)  PN 4783. A82 2008

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Print) KF 245. U55 2005

Citing Medicine: NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and PublishersScientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers(Print) T 11. S386

Bibliographic Management Software (EndNote, EndNote Web, NoodleTools, Zotero and Mendeley)

EndNote, EndNote Basic, and Zotero are bibliographic management programs that help you manage, store, and organize references.

EndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.

  • Significant learning curve
  • If you are a scholar or aspiring scholar you should invest the time now in order to save time and headaches later
  • You may purchase Endnote X.7 from the Office of Software Licensing (You may want to use both EndNote  and EndNote Basic)
  • See EndNote guide

EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.

NoodleTools is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.

  • Easy to Use
  • Undergraduate student focus
  • Self-guided tool that teaches how to properly document sources in MLA, APA or Chicago/Turabian
  • Produces a fully formatted Works Cited/References page
  • See NoodleTools User Guide

Zotero (Standalone and Firefox plug-in)

  • Freely available
  • Easy to import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
  • Can import dozens of citations at a time from Google Scholar
  • Compatible with EndNote Basic and Mendeley
  • See Zotero guide


  • Freely available
  • Can import citations from many library databases and webpages
  • Can share citations through groups feature
  • See Mendeley guide

Style Guides

Starters (Books/Links)

Oxford English Dictionary
Available in both print & online
PE 1625. O87
American Heritage College Dictionary
PE 1628 .A6227 2002

Pocket Oxford American Thesaurus 

Webster's New World College Dictionary
PE1628 .W5629 2016
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (1919)
(17th edition)  PN 6081. B27 2002
The OWL at Purdue
Harvard College Writing Center
Elements of Style (1918)
(4th Edition) PE 1408. S772 2000
Style: The Basics of Clarity and Grace
PE 1421. W5455
Academic Writing for Graduate
Students PE 1408. S7836 2004
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library