Skip to main content

Evidence Based Nursing: Databases

Find Full Text

Request Full Text

CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

CINAHL “is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981.”[1]

CINAHL is searched using the EBSCOhost interface. Citations are indexed using the CINAHL Headings controlled vocabulary and can be limited to age groups, publication type, clinical queries, evidence-based practice and more.

Here are some tutorials you can use to get to know CINAHL better:

PubMed

PubMed is a citation database developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the National Library of Medicine, at the National Institutes of Health.

PubMed contains over 21 million citations!

This is a free resource, but if you log in using off campus access, you will be able to see what articles are available to you as a Universty of Utah student. You will also be able to link to the full text of some of those articles.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases providing evidence to support healthcare decision making. The Cochrane Library contains the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which “includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team).”[1]

The Cochrane Library also provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. The database is updated quarterly

Ask A Question

More Information on Databases

The Online Tutorials Campus Guide offers more information and help for databases available through the Spencer S. Eccles library and the University of Utah.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse

National Guideline Clearinghouse

“NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) External Web Site Policy, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services….The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.”[1]

NGC contains structured abstracts, links to full-text guidelines (when available), a guideline comparison utility and an annotated bibliographic database.

This resource is free.


[1] http://www.guideline.gov/about/index.aspx

MedlinePlus