Skip to main content

Evidence Based Nursing: eBooks

eBooks

Click the eBooks link from the Quick Links box on the Eccles Library homepage (http://library.med.utah.edu) to access a list of the eBooks available to you. Find eBooks by title or author by using the library catalog.

The titles you see on the eBooks page are eBook collections. Each collection contains numerous electronic textbooks. See the chart below to discover some of the features of various eBook collections.

Remember that you will need to log in through remote access in order to view eBooks if you are not on campus.

Be sure to logoff when you are done; many eBook collections allow only a few users at one time.

Features of Selected eBook Collections

eBook Collection

Simultaneous Users

Tips and Features

Frequency of Updates

AccessMedicine

Clinical Library and Lange Educational Library (Basic and Clinical Science)

Only 3 people can use this resource at a time. Please log off when you are finished

Create a free My AccessMedicine account to save images and bookmark pages

 

McGraw-Hill:

Daily and with book coverage to the latest editions

Bookshelf – PubMed

Full-text books, reports, and databases

Unlimited

Use the search box or browse subjects or publishers.  Use the limits link to limit your search to figures, tables, or glossaries, or limit to a resource type.

Bookshelf announces new books via an RSS feed

MD Consult

Medical reference books;

journals, guidelines,

patient education, CME

and drug information

Only 4 people can use this resource at a time. Please log off when you are finished

Use the Books tab to search books

Use the Images tab for photos, tables, and more.

Browse topics using the View All Medical Topics Link

Create a free account for additional features

Elsevier:

Book coverage to

the latest editions

Ovid eBooks

Books@Ovid

Journals@Ovid Full Text Your Journals@Ovid

Unlimited access to ebooks

Quick Search- searches across all books or in an individual title

Browse by Title or Subject

Annotate a record using the note icon (this note can be seen by others)

Wolters Kluwer:

Book coverage to

the latest editions

STAT!Ref

Medical Reference Library

Only 5 people can use this resource at a time. Please log off when you are finished

Create a free personal account by clicking Preferences

Use Healthcare Dictionary for definitions

Use STAT!Notes to take notes

Teton Data Systems:

Book coverage to the latest editions

Print Books

The Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library has a limited number of print books. The books are available on the main level of the Library at the front desk. Materials put on Closed Reserve for an instructor/class can be checked out for in-library use.

To access print books, see the University Libraries' catalog.