Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah library's course and research guides, in one place.

Repositories for Research Data : Searching for a Data Repository

The following are databases of data centers and subject-based data repositories.

 NIH Data Sharing Repositories
The National Library of Medicine has produced a table of NIH-supported data repositories.These repositories do accept data from non-NIH research. There are 45 repositories listed.

re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories was released in December 2012. The registry is a result of a partnership among the Berlin School of Library and Information Science, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences and the KIT Library of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. The initiative is being funded by the German Research Foundation DFG.

Open Access Directory
The Open Access Directory of Data Repositories is being maintained by Simmons College. Repositories are listed by discipline.

FAIR stands for Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable. These are principles being promoted in order to develop standards ensuring that datasets resulting from government funded research are available. For additional information see FORCE11 and an article in Nature, The FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship. Both Repository Finder and Fairsharing.org address these concerns.

Repository Finder
This is a pilot project of the Enabling FAIR Data Project led by the American Geophysical Union (AGU) in partnership with DataCite and the Earth, space and environment sciences community, can help you find an appropriate repository to deposit your research data. The tool queries the re3data registry of research data repositories.

FAIRsharing.org
This FAIRsharing resource provides access to databases and in addition indicating the standards and policies used to develop the databases/repositories.

Listings of data repositories

Nature
PLOS

Stanford

American Heart Association Data Repositories

Specific repositories I've discovered

Machine Learning Repository
The largest collection of social science and population data in the UK  - UK Data Archive

Speech and Language Data Repository (SLDR/ORTOLANG) - SLDR.org
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Databases

DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth)

Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive - CPANDA

About me -

Daureen Nesdill's picture
Daureen Nesdill
Contact:
My office is in the Faculty Center (1705U) located on the first floor in the west entrance of the J. Willard Marriott Library.

My phone number is 801-585-5975. My office hours are Monday-Friday from 9am until 5pm. Please call or email first to make sure I'm available.

Data management, University and federal policies, repositories, campus storage options, research posters and electronic lab notebooks (ELNs) are my primary responsibilities.
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library