Ute Athletics in the Audio Visual Archives: U of U Basketball: Digitized

Guide to finding films and audio resources related to University of Utah athletics teams in the Audio Visual Archives.

Favorite U of U Sport?

Which University of Utah varsity sport is your favorite?

Favorite U of U Sport?
Baseball/Softball: 1 votes (2.44%)
Basketball: 7 votes (17.07%)
Football: 30 votes (73.17%)
Gymnastics: 1 votes (2.44%)
Skiing: 0 votes (0%)
Soccer: 0 votes (0%)
Swimming and Diving: 0 votes (0%)
Tennis: 1 votes (2.44%)
Track and Field/Cross Country/Golf: 0 votes (0%)
Volleyball: 1 votes (2.44%)
Total Votes: 41

University of Utah Men's Basketball

Special Collections is currently undertaking a large project to digitize all of the University of Utah men's basketball films and make them available on DVD for U of U alumni, researchers, and other patrons.

This project will take several years to complete.

University of Utah men's basketball films are found in two collections:

  • A0002 University of Utah Basketball
    • coach's films taken by and owned by the University of Utah.  DVD copies from A0002 University of Utah Basketball are available for $10/disc

  • A0303 KUTV News
    • broadcast videos taken by and owned by KUTV Channel 2.  DVD copies from A0303 KUTV News require written permission from KUTV.

Once it has been digitized, ALL basketball footage is available for viewing in the Special Collections reading room on Level 4 free of charge.

Please be aware that complete games do not always exist.

Games and reels listed on this page have already been digitized and are available for for viewing with 48 hours notice. 

Access to games not listed here may take several months. 

We apologize for any inconvenience.

A0002 University of Utah Basketball


Copyright owned by the University of Utah

Copies available for $10/disc

This list consists of all the available digitized basketball reels from the University of Utah's collection of coach's films (1944-1985). Please allow 48 hours notice to view any item on this list. Copies of other films in this collection may take several months. An inventory of the complete collection is available here.

List updated: 06/27/12

New items are red


  • 1943-1944
  • 1946-1947
    • NIT Tournament Highlights - official NIT film (silent)
      • 03/??/47 - Utah vs. Duquesne
      • 03/??/47 - Utah vs. West Virginia
      • 03/24/47 - Utah vs. Kentucky
  • 1965-1966
    • NCAA Tournament Highlights - official NCAA film sponsored by Pepsi (sound)
      • 03/18/66 - Utah vs. Texas Western (now UTEP)
      • 03/19/06 - Utah vs. Duke
  • 1969-1970
    • 12/01/69 - Utah vs. Stanford
      • Highlights
  • 1972-1973
    • 12/13/72 - Utah vs. Army
      • Reel 1
    • 01/06/73 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/26/73 - Utah vs. Arizona
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/03/73 - Utah vs. Brigham Young University (BYU)
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 02/15/73 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • Reel 1
    • 02/16/73 - Utah vs. University of Texas El Paso (UTEP)
      • Reel 1
    • 02/23/72 - Utah vs. Arizona
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 03/03/73 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 04/27/73 - Utah All-Stars vs. Russians
      • Reel 1
  • 1973-1974
    • 12/01/73 - Utah vs. Kansas State
      • Reel 1
    • 12/03/73 - Utah vs. Loyola Marymount
      • Reel 1
    • 12/06/73 - Utah vs. University of Southern California (USC)
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/08/73 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/14/73 - Utah vs. Dartmouth
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/15/73 - Utah vs. Seattle
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/18/73 - Utah vs. Ohio
      • Reel 2
    • 12/26/73 - Utah vs. Montana State
      • Reel 1
    • 01/01/74 - Utah vs. Purdue
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/04/74 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/05/74 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/12/74 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 01/17/74 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/24/74 - Utah vs. Arizona
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/25/74 - Utah vs. Arizona State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 02/02/74 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/08/74 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/09/73 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/16/74 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/28/74 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Reel 1
    • 03/02/74 - Utah vs. Wyoming
      • Reel 1
    • 03/17/24 - Utah vs. Rutgers
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • Scrimmages
      • 11/15/73 - Intra-squad scrimmage
      • 11/23/73 - Varsity intra-squad scrimmage
  • 1974-1975
    • 11/30/74 - Utah vs. Denver
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/02/74 - Utah vs. Rutgers
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/04/74 - Utah vs. Loyola Marymount
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/07/74 - Utah vs. USC
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
      • Reel 4
      • Reel 5
    • 12/14/74 - Utah vs. West Virginia
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/17/74 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/21/74 - Utah vs. University of California Irvine
      • Reel 1
    • 01/01/75 - Utah vs. University of Nevada Reno
      • Reel 1
    • 01/04/75 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 01/10/75 - Utah vs. Arizona
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
      • Reel 4
    • 01/11/75 - Utah vs. Arizona State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 01/18/75 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 01/24/75 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 01/25/75 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/01/75 - Utah vs. Oklahoma City
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/07/75 - Utah vs. Wyoming
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 02/08/75 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 02/14/75 - Utah vs. Arizona State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 02/22/75 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 2/28/75 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 03/07/75 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • Scrimmages
      • 11/14/74 - Scrimmage night with the Runnin' Utes
  • 1975-1976
    • 11/38/75 - Utah vs. Idaho
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/01/75 - Utah vs. Loyola Marymount
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/06/75 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 3
    • 12/13/75 - Utah vs. SDSU
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/16/75 - Utah vs. Weber State
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/20/75 - Utah vs. St. Peter's
      • Reel 1
      • Reel 2
    • 12/26/75 - Utah vs. University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV)
      • Reel 2
      • Reel 3
    • 12/29/75 - Utah vs. Harvard
      • Reel 3
      • Reel 4
      • Reel 5
      • Reel 6
    • Scrimmages
      • 11/12/75 - Scrimmage at Kearns High School
      • 11/19/75 - Scrimmage at Bountiful High School reel 1
      • 11/19/75 - Scrimmage at Bountiful High School reel 2
  • 1997-1998
    • 03/28/98 - Utah vs. North Carolina
      • Entire game
    • 03/30/98 - Utah vs. Kentucky
      • Entire game
  • Undated
    • 1958? - Utah vs. St. Bonaventure
      • First half

A0303 KUTV News

Copyright owend by KUTV News

Copies available only with permission from KUTV.

This list consists of all the available digitized basketball games in the KUTV News collection. Please allow 48 hours notice to view any item on this list

List updated: 06/21/12


  • 1987-1988
    • 02/27/88 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Tape 1
      • Tape 2
      • Tape 3
      • Tape 4
      • Tape 5
  • 1988-1989
    • 12/13/88 - Utah vs. Washington
      • First half
      • Second half
  • 1989-1990
    • 11/25/89 - Utah vs. California State Stanislaus
      • Game highlights
    • 11/27/89 - Utah vs. Humboldt State
      • Tape 2
    • 01/04/90 - Utah vs. SDSU
      • First half
      • Second half
  • 1990-1991
    • 12/01/90 - Utah vs. Michigan
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/05/91 - Utah vs. SDSU
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/12/91 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/31/91 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • First half
      • Second half
      • ISO
      • ISO 1
    • 02/02/91 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • First half
      • Second half
      • ISO
      • ISO 1
    • 02/07/91 - Utah vs. Hawaii
      • Postgame
    • 02/16/91 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Bradley vs. Utah
      • Byron Wilson three point plays
      • Josh Grant Utah celebration
    • 02/21/91 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 03/17/91 - Utah vs. Michigan State
      • First half
      • Second half
  • 1991-1992
    • 01/11/92 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/18/92 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/23/92 - Utah vs. Air Force
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 01/30/92 - Utah vs. UTEP
      • Tape 2 - buzzer beater
    • 02/01/92 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 02/06/92 - Utah vs. Hawaii
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 02/08/92 - Utah vs. SDSU
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 02/15/92 - Utah vs. Colorado State
      • Tape 1
      • Tape 2
    • 02/20/92 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Tape 1
    • 02/22/92 - Utah vs. Wyoming
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 02/29/92 - Utah vs. Hawaii
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 03/11/92 - Utah vs. Hawaii
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 03/12/92 - Utah vs. BYU
      • First half
      • Second half
  • 1992-1993
    • 12/05/92 - Utah vs. Bradley
      • Second half
    • 12/08/92 - Utah vs. Utah State
      • First half
      • Second half
    • 2/27/93 - Utah vs. BYU
      • Pregame show
  • 1995-1996
    • 03/16/96 - Utah vs. Iowa State
      • Tape 1
      • Tape 2
      • Tape 3
      • Tape 4
  • 1996-1997
    • 12/21/96 - Utah vs. Texas
      • Tape 1
      • Tape 2
      • Tape 3
    • 02/15/97 - Utah vs. Texas Christian University (TCU)
      • ISO
    • 03/07/97 - Utah vs. New Mexico
      • Tape 1
      • Tape 2
      • First half
      • Postgame
  • Undated material
    • Rick Majerus talks about UNLV
    • Utah vs. BYU postgame

Women's Basketball

Special Collections does hold a small collection of games and other footage of University of Utah women's basketball

Please direct all women's basketball inquiries directly to the multimedia archivists.

1947 NIT Championship

Browse Ute Athletics Online!

University of Utah Athletics online  -  Browse digitized photographs, media guides, game programs and stats in our digital library

Utonian  -  Browse player and team yearbook photos from the University of Utah Utonian (1905-1972).

Utah Digital Newspapers  -  Browse coverage of the Utes in local newspapers (not all years).

Utes on YouTube!  -  Browse video clips of Ute games. Try our University of Utah Sports channel, University of Utah Historic Basketball channel, or our playlist of Billy McGill games!

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library