NUTR 5850: Online Research Methods: Find Articles

This guide is for Dr. Kathie Beals' online NUTR 5850class

Find Articles

The library subscribes to several databases, which are collections of scholarly articles. This page lists some databases that you might consdier using. Beneath this page in this guide, there are subpages that will highlight a few specific databases that will be particularly helpful: Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar, Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews, and MEDLINE.

You will get a citation (author, title, source, date) and often an abstract--a short summary. Most of these databases either provide or link to the full text. Excellent starting points are:

Cochrane Library (1988-current) Evidence-based medicine (EBM) resources including a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses

Dynamed (1995-current)
Provides evidence-based clinical summaries of over 3000 clinical topics.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1960-current)
Limiting a search by "Primary Source" is the most efficient way to search for the the instrument itself. The "Secondary Source" limit indicates that the instrument was not developed by the author(s) of the cited article.

PubMed (1950-current)

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 22 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.Click here for a page of tutorials that describe how to use PubMed.

Web of Science
Available only in the Marriott Library. Also known as the ISI Citation Indexes. Prior to 1975, use the print editions of these indexes which are available in the ARC at the Marriott Library. Scopus is the most up-to-date and comprehensive citation index available.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library