NUTR 5850: Online Research Methods: Web Resources
Medical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
MEDLINEplus Health Information: Dictionaries
MEDLINEplus Health Information: Encyclopedia
"...a new federal resource, provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition. This national resource makes obtaining government information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety, easily accessible in one place for many Americans." Information is arranged under the following broad headings (with subheadings): Food Facts, Food Safety, Lifecycle Issues, Health Management, Food Assistance, Research, and Resources.
MEDLINEplus Health Information: Food, Nutrition and Metabolism Topics
".a gold mine of up-to-date, quality health care information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. MEDLINEplus is for anyone with a medical question. Both health professionals and consumers can depend on it for accurate, current, medical information."
Food and Nutrition Information Center
A wealth of information: reports, bibliographies, guidelines for professionals and consumers.
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
Includes links to nutrition policy reports and to the full text of articles from Family Economics and Nutrition Review beginning with the Spring and Summer 1998 issue.
Tufts University Nutrition Navigator
A rating guide to nutrition websites; rating and evaluation criteria included.
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
"...a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century." Full-text coverage includes human nutrition along with many other agriculture-related subjects. Keyword, Boolean, subject, and other types of searching is available.
The Report of the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee on Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2005
The 2005 report remains current until the current guidelines (2010) are published. The 2010 guidelines are now publicly available.
America's Eating Habits: Changes and Consequences
Edited by Elizabeth Frazão, Food and Rural Economics Division, Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Agriculture Information Bulletin No. 750 (AIB-750). "Individual chapters in this book provide different perspectives on the nutrition problem in the United States."
The Healthy Eating Index
The Healthy Eating Index measures how well the diets of all Americans conform to the recommendations of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the Food Guide Pyramid."
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: IBIDS database
The International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) is a database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS is produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health to assist the public, health care providers, educators, and researchers in locating credible, scientific information on dietary supplements.
Annual Bibliography of Significant Advances in Dietary Supplement Research (1999-2007)
"...a joint effort of the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health and the Consumer Healthcare Products Association." The top 25 papers in the field published in 1999, as identified by "leading scientists in the United States." Includes annotations; PDF format.
The Heart: An Online Exploration
From the Franklin Institute.
The Medical Biochemistry Page
Provided by Dr. Michael W. King of the Terre Haute Center for Medical Education, this stellar resource offers a wealth of biochemistry information, from the basic chemistry of biomolecules to Glycosaminoglycans and mucopolysaccharides. Designed with the undergraduate in mind, each section contains full-text descriptions of a particular subject with accompanying illustrations, tables, figures, and references. Users looking for further information on any topic can use the MedHunt search engine from the front page here to search multiple online medical sources. For any student of biochemistry, this resource will be a valuable asset.-Copyright Internet Scout Project, 1994-2000. http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/
Data and Analysis
Nutrient Data Laboratory
"Data sets [and other information] prepared by USDA-ARS's Nutrient Data Laboratory.Some of the data sets available include the USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference - Release 13, carotenoids, isoflavones, vitamin K and nutrient retention factors."
Nutrition Analysis Tool (Version 2.0)
Provided by the Food Science and Human Nutrition Department at the University of Illinois.
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
Allows for plant, chemical, activity and ethnobotany searches. Also includes links to the Tico Ethnobotanical Dictionary, a syllabus for a medical botany course, and links to other databases and related sites
return to top of Web Links
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations; Economic and Social Department: Food and Nutrition
Includes Food, Nutrition and Agriculture, FAO's on-line journal about nutrition, food quality and safety and also reports on food composition, nutrition education, biotechnology, etc.
International Food Information Council
The International Food Information Council (supported primarily by the broad-based food, beverage and agricultural industries) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to communicate science-based information on food safety and nutrition to health and nutrition professionals, educators, government officials, journalists and others providing information to consumers
Food and culture
Professor Robert Dirks of Illinois State University compiled this comprehensive list of resources for the anthropological study of food and culture. The World Food Habits Bibliography is subdivided into regional and topical lists. All regions of the globe are included and topic areas cover various facets of food-related studies.-Copyright Internet Scout Project, 1994-2000. http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/
American Dietetic Association
American Society for Clinical Nutrition
American Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
Nutrition Division of the Institute of Food Technologists
295 S 1500 E Salt Lake City, UT