NUTR 5850: Online Research Methods: Style/Citation Manuals

This guide is for Dr. Kathie Beals' online NUTR 5850class

Style Guides

Style Manuals

Print resources are available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2) of the Marriott Library

Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style.  Listed on the left are the most popular style guides including  APA, Chicago, and MLA style.  Other style guides include:

MLA Style Resources

From Purdue Online Writing Lab:

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

In MLA, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called Works Cited.

APA Style Resources

From Purdue Online Writing Lab:

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.

In APA, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References.

Chicago Style Resources

From Purdue Online Writing Lab:

CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style) is most commonly used to cite sources within history and the arts.

Chicago has two main options for citations and bibliography: Author Date and Notes Bibliography. In Author Date style, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References. In Notes Bibliography style, your citations will either be footnotes or endnotes, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called Bibliography.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library