EndNote Basic and Desktop support: EndNote X8

This guide describes how to access and use EndNote Basic, a citation management system, and gives a brief overview of the desktop versions of EndNote

EndNote X8 Tutorials

EndNote X.7 vs. EndNote Basic

EndNote X.7 is an application that runs on your computer. EndNote Web is web-based. They do many of the same things (save citations, create bibliographies automatically in Microsoft Word, etc) but have some differences. Check out the Comparison of Features for all the details.

Most undergraduates will find that Endnote Basic meets their needs. Dissertation writers and other researchers may find the functionality of the stand alone version meets more of their needs.

Google Scholar

Want to add items from Google Scholar to your EndNote library? 

Change one setting and "Import into EndNote" will be added to each item in Google Scholar.  Visit Scholar Preferences andselect "Show links to export citations into" and choose EndNote from the drop-down menu.  Click "Save Preferences" and you're done.  Next time you search on Google Scholar, you'll see EndNote as an option.

Getting EndNote X8

Description: EndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references, creating instant bibliographies, and formatting articles for publication in thousands of journals.To get started with EndNote X8, please peruse the online training materials

Anyone with access to the University of Utah may use Endnote Basic for free. You may also purchase Endnote X8 from the Office of Software Licensing. (You may want to use both programs.) Check out the first video below to learn a little bit more about what EndNote X8 can do and the two videos below it to see how EndNote works in Mac and Windows.

Need Help?

Contact technical support via e-mail or by phone at 800-336-4474 (at the prompt press 4, and then select the "ResearchSoft Products" option)  Or, get help from the University of Utah Libraries EndNote Support Team

EndNote X7: Connection File Settings for University Libraries Catalog

NOTE: "Rename any files you have customized as the new versions will overwrite existing files. Once the file(s) is downloaded to your desktop, copy the file(s) to the appropriate folder in your EndNote program directory (usually located in Windows—C:Program FilesEndNoteConnections or Mac OS X— Harddrive: Applications: EndNote: Connections)."


Please edit your connection file and make sure the following settings have been changed.

Server: na02.alma.exlibrisgroup.com
Database: Library Catalog

Database Name: 01UTAH_INST
Port: 1921

 

We have asked Thomson Reuters to update our connection file.
 

Find Full Text Off-Campus in EndNote

If you want to use the feature to have EndNote try to locate full-text versions for you and you're off-campus, you'll want to use a  feature that lets you specify the U of Utah's off campus access . Under the EndNote Preferences, on the Find Full Text screen put in the following information. 

EndNote Preferences

The OpenURL path is: http://utah-primoprod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/UTAH/UTAH-S?

Authenticate with URL link is: https://login.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/

 

When finished, click on OK.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library