Families and Health Block U
What materials are you searching in Usearch?
Usearch combines the catalogs of the Marriott, Faust, Eccles and McKay libraries, online articles, ebooks, digital collections into one search engine.
You can limit searches to Local resources only, Articles only or Digital Collections using the dropdown.
All Resource: Books, ebooks, journals, audio/visual materials, articles and digital collections
Local Resources: Books, ebooks, journals, & audio/visual materials. no articles or digital collections
Articles: Articles only, no books, ebooks or digital collections
Digital Collections: Digital collections only, no books or
You can do basic keyword searches from the library home page. Just type your search terms in the search box and press 'Search'. If you want to search Course Reserves materials, click the Course Reserves tab.
2. Or go directly to Usearch by clicking "Search."
Tip: LOGGING IN right away will allow for a seamless experience requesting materials and viewing your e-shelf and library account information. Click the LOG IN link in the user panel and enter your uNID and password. When your name appears in the user panel, you know you're logged in.
3. If you've kept the default of "All Resources" your initial search results will include books, A/V materials, articles, digital collections and more from the J. Willard Marriott, Eccles Health Sciences, Faust Law and McKay Music libraries.
Tip: You can always use the facets, to post filter for more focused results.
Tip: You can sort your search results by relevance, date-newest, author and title by choosing your preference in the sorted by: drop-down menu located at the top of your search results list.
Tip: To refine your search results, use the facets on the left side of the screen. You will be able to facet your results by: Resource Type, Location, Collection, Subject, Creation Date, Language, Author/Creator, and Classification.
Tip: You can include or exclude as many facet parameters as you wish at once.
Tip: You can see your selected filters at the top and deselect any or all of them to adjust your results. You can also continue to build upon your current selections by selecting to include further facets.
Tip: If you have searched for "fashion" and only want to see physical materials available at the Marriott Library, you would choose: Show Only = "Available in the Library," Location = "Marriott Library." This will tailor your search results to only list physical materials at the Marriott Library.
Tip: In addition to saving items to your e-shelf you can also send items to a printer, email address, EndNote Basic, EasyBib, and more.
Tip: You can use Boolean logic in Usearch!
Tip: You can use truncation & wildcards in Usearch!
To use Advanced Search, click the "Advanced Search" link the J. Willard Marriott home page or in the Basic Search box in Usearch.
Advanced search uses pre-filter searching for very specific results. Using the drop-down menus provided you can limit your search by title, author/creator, subject, user tags, ISBN and/or ISSN using either keyword 'contains' or exact phrase searching 'is (exact)'. You may select up to the three pre-filters in any combination along with date range, publication date, material type and language.
Tip: To search for an audio recording of Le Cid in French, you would select Title contains: Le Cid, Subject contains: music, Material Type: Audio Visual, Language: French.
- Last Updated: Aug 20, 2019 10:58 AM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/familiesandhealth
- Print Page