Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

Metadata - Assigning Subject Headings and Names: EAD links in Alma/Primo

A short overview of how to use the Library of Congress Name and Subject Authorities to assign headings in EAD files

Display of Links to Finding Aids

In the past, there have been inconsistent practices for how links to both the EAD registers in ArchivesWest as well as the digitized collections have been encoded in the MARC records in our ILS. Here are four different examples for how these links can show up in Primo. We would like to figure out what the best practice should be so we can update all of the records to be more consistent across all collections in SPC.

Example #1 : Record with portfolio for digital collection and not the EAD
The View It tab has a link to the digitized collection and not the EAD. A link to both the digital collection and the EAD are included on the Details tab under Links.
Alf Engen Papers, 1915-1972
 

Example #2 : Record with portfolio for the digital collection and the EAD
The View It tab in Primo for this item has a link to the digital collection and another link to the finding aid. Both links are also included in the Details tab under the Links section.
Golden Spike oral history project transcriptions
 

Example #3 : Record with portfolio for the EAD and not the digital collection
The View It tab has a link to the finding aid and not the digital collection since it doesn't exist yet. The Details tab also includes the link under the Links section.
Saving the Legacy oral history project, 2001-2009
 

Example #4 : Record with no portfolios
There is not a View It tab for this record. A link to the finding aid does show up on the Details tab Link section. The collection has not been digitized, so there is not link for that.
Jeanette McKay Morrell papers, 1896-1983
 

Note: the wording in both the View It tab and the Links section of the Details tab is configurable and can be changed as needed.

If a link to the EAD is included in the View It tab, is it confusing to patrons who think that they will be getting access to the collection rather than just a register of the collection?

Ken has been working to make sure that all collections that have been digitized show up with a link in both the View It tab and the Links on the Details tab.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library