Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

Environmental and Sustainability Studies: Primary Resources

A guide to resources for Environmental and Sustainability Studies students

Searching Using ArchivesWest

All the divisions of Special Collections (Manuscripts, AV Archives, Photograph Archives, Rare Books, Print & Journal, and University Records) create inventories of their collections and publish them online in ArchivesWest. You can search ArchivesWest for any topic, but make sure to use the search limiters on the left hand side of the results page to limit your search results to University of Utah - Special Collections (or to University of Utah - Records Management for University records). 

What is Special Collections?

What could you find in Special Collections? Special Collections contain unique, rare, or regional resources. They often contain collections of personal papers, unpublished materials like correspondence and diaries, photographs, home movies, oral histories, and other material that is regionally relevant. Special Collections resources do not leave the library; they are frequently very valuable and could never be replaced if they go missing. 

Special Collections in Marriott Library is located on Level 4.

Departments in Special Collections:

A Digital Library is defined as a collection of materials in electronic form. That's a pretty simple definition, but really we're not just referring to e-books. The term Digital Library, in practice, is used to refer to Special Collections-type material that has been digitized and made available online. Sometimes this does include books, but most often it is photographs, oral histories, and personal papers. 

Marriott Library's Digital Library  Also try out the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

A Finding Aid is a guide to the contents of a collection. It's sort of like of like the record for a book you would find in the library's catalog, but more in-depth. Sometimes it has links to the material it talks about (if the material has been digitized) but most often it does NOT. Take a look at this for an example: Norma W. Matheson papers

Politics and the Environment in Special Collections

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library